Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This receipe is fantastic. I didn't refrigerate overnight so of course i had more fat/grease but next time I will. The gravy is delicious. I also used Lawry's Garlic & Seasoning Salt along with some cajun seasoning from Tony Chachere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
U should tweak a little it good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Haven't had Oxtails in ages. Saw some in the store and thought I try. Your receipe for Octails and gravy was fantastic will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
First time making oxtails and this recipe was really great, good flavor, and lovely gravy. But, we think in the future we will buy oxtails and use them more like you would a hamhock in beans and soups etc. Not a lot of meat on oxtails to justify the price, or cooking time for this recipe IMO If you love oxtails already, try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I have never eaten or prepared oxtail, but my husband is South African and was craving them. I found this recipe, and prepared it exactly as written, except I only used a teaspoon of salt since several reviewers mentioned that it was too salty. Even though I cut back on the salt, it was still WAY too salty! I had to add additional beef broth and flour to dilute the salty taste. Other than that, it was perfect! I would definitely make this again, but I would only add either the seasoning salt or the table salt...not both. I'm also wondering if the Greek seasoning put additional salt into the dish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very very good. I agree this does not feed 6. You need at least 2 tails to feed six. The Gravy is awesome. Wonderful for a grits and gravy combo. Yeah I know grits are for breakfast, but I'm just saying. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Omg never made oxtails my daughter who I let taste before revealing what it was loved it yum a rel keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Delicious! Just like my mom used to make it when I was a child. I used Worchester sauce instead a brown sauce and I didn't have Greek seasoning, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I'll let the broth cool and scrape the fat off the top so that my gravy isn't so greasy. But it was still delicious. I plated it on a bed a garlic mashed potatoes. I can't wait until I'm hungry again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Pegues

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This recipe was amazing! I trimmed some of the fat off the meat before cooking. I made this in a big pot as called for and didn't realize before hand that the long cooking time would lead to evaporation. I just kept adding a mixture of water and chicken broth (I would have used beef broth but didn't have any on hand) so that the oxtails were always covered by liquid. I did not find this recipe too salty at all and the meat of the oxtails fell off the bone! The gravy was also amazing. I made Jamaican rice and peas (from a family recipe) to go with the oxtails and gravy. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkihvw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I've been using this recipe from here for years. It's our all time favorite for oxtails!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States