Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This recipe was awesome I made it for a friend and he fell in LOVE with it! The only reason i am giving this recipe 4 stars is because I was kind of salty, but the italian seasong made it taste AWESOME...The only thing I added was Lousiana hot sauce while the oxtails cooked...and I cooked for 3 hrs...much tender...THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Excellent and very easy! I love this recipe. I saved three years ago and finally got around to preparing it. My family loved it. The gravy recipe is terrific and I think it would be great on lamb chops too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
was not in a hurry so i slow cook the first part on low for 4.5-5.0 hours, then placed in gravy. this recipe turn out so good i will definitely be added this to my special book.lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Love this recipe!!! I looked all over for a simple recipe of this dish, and I kept finding it with beans and carrots and tomatoes, etc., which is not the oxtails with gravy that I grew up on. This recipe was exactly what I wanted! It is so easy, and it came out wonderfully! I serve it with buttery white rice and fresh collard greens. My husband loves it so much that he's taken to making sure we always have oxtails in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This receipe is fantastic. I didn't refrigerate overnight so of course i had more fat/grease but next time I will. The gravy is delicious. I also used Lawry's Garlic & Seasoning Salt along with some cajun seasoning from Tony Chachere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
U should tweak a little it good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Haven't had Oxtails in ages. Saw some in the store and thought I try. Your receipe for Octails and gravy was fantastic will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
First time making oxtails and this recipe was really great, good flavor, and lovely gravy. But, we think in the future we will buy oxtails and use them more like you would a hamhock in beans and soups etc. Not a lot of meat on oxtails to justify the price, or cooking time for this recipe IMO If you love oxtails already, try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I have never eaten or prepared oxtail, but my husband is South African and was craving them. I found this recipe, and prepared it exactly as written, except I only used a teaspoon of salt since several reviewers mentioned that it was too salty. Even though I cut back on the salt, it was still WAY too salty! I had to add additional beef broth and flour to dilute the salty taste. Other than that, it was perfect! I would definitely make this again, but I would only add either the seasoning salt or the table salt...not both. I'm also wondering if the Greek seasoning put additional salt into the dish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very very good. I agree this does not feed 6. You need at least 2 tails to feed six. The Gravy is awesome. Wonderful for a grits and gravy combo. Yeah I know grits are for breakfast, but I'm just saying. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States