Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I wanted a different way to make oxtails than cooking them in a crock pot or braising and making a soup. This the perfect soulful way of cooking oxtails for a Sunday dinner with vegetables and other side dishes. I followed recipe exactly except I used no salt and had to use Italian seasons, will have Greek seasonings on hand next time. It was delicious and a keeper. Thank You.??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynn
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
My husband liked it. He had been craving Oxtails with gravy but I'd never made it before. Tried this recipe and he enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
It was my first time ever making or eating oxtails, I knew that my boyfriend really loved them so I wanted to make them. I have made this recipe 3 times now, and he says it's the best. I love how rich, tender, and flavorful they turn out. Once I tried to use canned beef broth to boil them in, instead of water, and it turned out too salty, so just follow this recipe as is, it works out great. I found a tip that I used, and it was after washing the oxtails give them a bath in cold water with a little vinegar. Not sure what this was supposed to do, but I really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
A bit greasy, but otherwise delicious!!!1 You may want to strain grease off of them twice rather than once like the recipe suggests. There will still be plenty of oil left to add flour for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwilcox6539

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I love oxtails any way U fix Them,I'm always looking for more and different ways to make it. I CAN'T SAY OXTAIL SOUP AROUND MY HOUSE, THEY WILL ALL COME! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe is soooo good!!!! This was my first time making oxtails, and I'm glad I followed this recipe. The gravy was a little salty, so next time, I won't add any salt. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamika Williamson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and I just LOVE it!!! I used to only make oxtails in 15 bean soup, and I wanted to find a different way to prepare them. I think this recipe is perfect. The oxtails come out nice and tender and very well seasoned. This rocks on flavor! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinotl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very good and filling! Used suggestion (ala Julia Childs) to brown tails first for 40 min at 400 with onion, celery, and carrots deglazing pan with red wine. Cooked in slow cooker for 5 1/2 hours with ingredients (minus season salt). Added sauteed onions and carrots (don't saute in bacon grease next time--flavour too overpowering). Served over rice. Will try with potatoes next time. If planning on doubling gravy, double oxtails for more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Loved it! I used a jamacian jerk spice mix instead of the greek 1, and i browned the meat first befor cooking it up in my slow cooker. served it with okra, black beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States