Oxtail Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
Really tasty, and when the grease is dipped off, it if heart healty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This is great! I did add a large can of beef broth to take the place of some of the water. I also eliminated the cucumber and added zuchinni instead. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This is fantastic!!! the meat is so tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Excellent. My 1st time making any type of oxtail soup was for Mothers' Day. I have prepared it every sunday since. My family loves it. I boiled the oxtails for 45 minutes then added the other ingredients and used beef broth instead of plain water. Today, I will take the suggested review by Qaedon to fry 1st. Thank you for this wonderful and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This turned out really good. I did make some changes. I omitted the plum tomatoes (in error), the cabbage, and the cucumbers. I placed it all in a slow cooker crock pot. Excellent idea to add the 1 lb. of cubed beef stew meat b/c sometimes oxtails are not that meaty. The family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle MC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Fry the oxtails first. Don't crowd the pan. Get them nice and brown. Deglaze with 1/2 cup of red wine then proceed with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I have been making oxtail soup for years, my grandmother's recipe. I can't imagine boiling the tails with the veggies! I always brown my tails and meat, add onion and celery, bay leaves, a can of tomatoes, and water. The meat is rich enough, you don't need the salty artificial flavor of beef bouillon cubes. Instead of potatoes I add barley. I add whatever other veggies I have available. Today it will be carrots, and frozen peas and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This is a so so recipe at best. Oxtail soup is also called poor man's soup. In the old days because it was made from whatever you had available. Now it's poor man's soup because of what oxtails now cost. Anyway, I think this soup should never be made without parsnips first & foremost. I usually use whole peeled tomatoes & squeeze them into the soup. I would also add some zuchinni but add it last or it will cook away, a can of tomato sauce, ketchup & about a 1/2 cup of sugar. Lastly I would serve it will bow tie noodles. Also, the cabbage is optional. If you really like veggies you can add a bag of frozen soup veggies as well. Cucumbers can only make this taste totally disgusting and disturbing, not sure what the author was thinking about by adding cucumbers and that is the reason for the low rating. The other thing, if your going to use the oxtails and the stew meat there is no reason to add all those beef bouillon cubes. Oxtails should be browned prior to just plopping them into the pot of water. It helps to get rid of some of the fat. If you still feel the soup has too much fat on it, before serving it put it into the fridge for until it is cold. The fat will harden and turn white on the top of the soup and you can merely remove it. Before adding the veggies, the meat should be boiled for at least 45 mins to an hour and the scum removed from the top. This creates your beef broth. I feel as though I just rewrote this recipe, wasn't my intention but I think it needed help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I've grown up eating oxtail soup. It used to be made usually at the end of the week and throw all the leftover veggies in. I've changed it a bit. I used a pkg of frozen veggies, celery, carrots, onion and garlic. I add my own canned stewed tomatoes and I make my own noodles (my kids used to ask if I made noodles or not-if not they really didn't care for the soup that much). Also and most important I think, you must cook oxtails forever to get them fall off the bone tender. I usually start my soup late morning and let the oxtails, onion and garlic cook in water(add more if needed) at least two to three hours, skimming now and then. I also shred my cabbage and add that after the raw veggies, noodles of course go in last. I also add a bit of tomato juice if I have it handy. I always cooked this on the weekend being a single mom and working during the week. I relaxed making this especially during football season. Great with crusty bread. oh and I usually throw in some parsley (Italian) and some dried basil. Gives it all a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This was absolutely terrible. A complete waste of good vegetables. I have no idea how it was supposed to go together, but it says to put the meat and the veggies together in the pot at the same time. It's done when the veggies are tender--but at that point, the water you've added to cover everything still tastes like--well, water. So you've got a big water soup with veggies and some meat chunks floating in it. Just awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States