Ox Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is fantastic and a great money saver! Smith's brand ox roast can sell from $5 to $7 a pound. There were two things I did different. 1. I used bottom round ($2.89/lb) and 2. I didn't have time to baste as suggested so I placed plastic wrap over the roast and veggies and covered it all aluminum foil to try and lock in all the moisture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I had no idea that you could just buy ox roast so I made this recipe. Not bad, but not good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGURU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Wonderful deli style homemade roast beef. Reminds me of when I worked in a deli in NY state. This is the roast beef I've been missing since I moved from NY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millwood, New York, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
i love this recipe. i made this for a grad. party and the ox roast was the first thing gone. when i make this recipe i make it 125 people or more and it is the best i have ever used. i make my living by catering. i will not use anither recipe for ox roast. Thank You Jon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Fantastic flavor, very similar to roast beef I have had in New England delis. Didn't use the carrots because I didn't have them. Do brown the roast before cooking to give it a lovely color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Delicious! I will definatly keep this recipe--husband and young kids loved it and I've passed it along to all of my relatives. My changes: I was out of broth so I used boullion and cut the total liquids to 4 cups as my roast was 5#. I used plain old black pepper; not freshly ground. I didn't baste every 1/2 hour (wasn't home) and found that it didn't need to be basted--just extra work. Put it in there and forget about it. Next time I'll chop the veggies finely in the food processor beforehand so I don't have to smash them or strain them. The sauce is so rich and good. Oven temp at 200°F was a bit low so I upped it to 215°F after 3 hours and watched it closely. I let the internal temp get past 140°F, and at 145°F it was just a little too overdone for me (not red in the middle), but excellent nonetheless. I served this roast after setting for 1 hour (instead of chilled overnight) and placed the leftover portion cut-side up in a bowl so as to retain the juices. This is by far, bar none, the BEST roast beef recipe I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This was outstanding. The flavor was as I remembered the sandwich that was at festivals in NW PA dduring my youth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States