Ox Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is fantastic and a great money saver! Smith's brand ox roast can sell from $5 to $7 a pound. There were two things I did different. 1. I used bottom round ($2.89/lb) and 2. I didn't have time to baste as suggested so I placed plastic wrap over the roast and veggies and covered it all aluminum foil to try and lock in all the moisture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I had no idea that you could just buy ox roast so I made this recipe. Not bad, but not good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGURU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Wonderful deli style homemade roast beef. Reminds me of when I worked in a deli in NY state. This is the roast beef I've been missing since I moved from NY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millwood, New York, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
i love this recipe. i made this for a grad. party and the ox roast was the first thing gone. when i make this recipe i make it 125 people or more and it is the best i have ever used. i make my living by catering. i will not use anither recipe for ox roast. Thank You Jon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Fantastic flavor, very similar to roast beef I have had in New England delis. Didn't use the carrots because I didn't have them. Do brown the roast before cooking to give it a lovely color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Delicious! I will definatly keep this recipe--husband and young kids loved it and I've passed it along to all of my relatives. My changes: I was out of broth so I used boullion and cut the total liquids to 4 cups as my roast was 5#. I used plain old black pepper; not freshly ground. I didn't baste every 1/2 hour (wasn't home) and found that it didn't need to be basted--just extra work. Put it in there and forget about it. Next time I'll chop the veggies finely in the food processor beforehand so I don't have to smash them or strain them. The sauce is so rich and good. Oven temp at 200°F was a bit low so I upped it to 215°F after 3 hours and watched it closely. I let the internal temp get past 140°F, and at 145°F it was just a little too overdone for me (not red in the middle), but excellent nonetheless. I served this roast after setting for 1 hour (instead of chilled overnight) and placed the leftover portion cut-side up in a bowl so as to retain the juices. This is by far, bar none, the BEST roast beef recipe I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This was outstanding. The flavor was as I remembered the sandwich that was at festivals in NW PA dduring my youth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States