Owen's Mozzarella and Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was an extremely refreshing side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
we love caprese salad....I mix the EVOO with balsamic ving. and drizzle over the plate. fresh mozarrella is a MUST, the processed bricks wont work! You can skewer cherry tomatoes and cubed mozzarella marinated in the oil/blasamic/basil and serve as appetizers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I like this combination but for a crowd I like to use grape tomatoes cut in half and cube the cheese in small pieces. Add a little salt and toss w/ the basil/basalmic vingergrette so that everyone can take some on their plate. Had a dinner party and they loved it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is known as Caprese salad. Italians have been making this probably for centuries. It is delicious, but as others have mentioned use only the fresh cheese, not the brick or shredded kind. The fresh comes packed in water and is formed into balls. Delicious! Quick, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Try reducing the basalmic vinegar by half. Heat basalmic vinegar in a small skillet over medium / low heat until thick (almost like honey). It removes the acid taste and makes a wonderful drizzle for your salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Wonderful recipe. My mother and I have been making this for years. Excellent with a little freshly chopped garlic and some balsamic vinegar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pella, Iowa, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Sooo good and so easy to make!!!!! Fresh basil gives it great flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was just what I was looking for. I would have added balsamic, but hubby doesn't care for it. Also, I had fresh basil and cut it a little too large. So make sure that you use fresh mozz. cheese. Next time, I'll add a little salt as the fresh cheese is missing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoriJeannine
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This is a great Summer dish. I took it to a pot luck at work and they all thought it was great. One co-worker even said she was "moving in" because I always bring "fancy things." Uh, ok? I never thought this salad as being fancy, but I guess it's all about presentation. I used olive oil that already had basil in it, so it was very easy. I think Roma tomatoes are just the right size for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriJeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Mc Gregor, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States