Overnight Refrigerator Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Wasn't sure about "cold oatmeal" at first but intrigued by the nutrition. Now it has grown on me after a few mornings. I used Kefir in place of Greek yogurt and skim milk for sweetened almond milk. I also added 1 Tbsp chia seeds. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Some people are saying to cook the oatmeal first... that defeats the purpose of this easy make-ahead breakfast! If you use the right oats, you don't have to cook ahead. Add apple sauce and cinnamon, cocoa and bananas, brown sugar, or peanut butter to the jar for some variations. My kiddos always love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This tasted slimy and uncooked to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
So easy! I searched for the simplest overnight oatmeal recipe and this did the trick. After a few tries, I've modified the following: I use half a container of greek yogurt instead of measuring a half cup. I use 1% milk instead of almond milk. I really want grab & go, so I added the fruit when I made it, not the next morning. Sliced bananas and frozen strawberries are a winner. Frozen blueberries didn't translate. I make them two at a time and so far the jar that sat an extra day was better. I might try extending the times to see if I could make four in a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coletteshaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as specified, using almond milk and peach flavored greek yogurt. I personally didn't care for it. I think I was expecting more of a muesli texture. This had a much richer, almost slimy texture and the oatmeal was chewy in a stale-sort-of way. Maybe if I switched to a regular yogurt instead of a greek yogurt I would like it better, but I think I will look for a different recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I d not precook the oatmeal!!!!! There are endless possibilities! I love it with crushed pineapple. I add some of the juice from the can instead of milk and I never use that much milk. I also add some chia seeds. I make an entire weeks worth and take it to work for breakfast. I also add my fruit at night (except bananas). This is an easy and great breakfast - or snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I make a few of these to have them ready for when I am in a hurry. Somebody mentioned precooking the oatmeal but it is not necessary since rolled oats will soften over night and be as if cooked. This is perfect for the family on the go. Make each one up according to personal tastes. Your family will love you 8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I would add to cook the oatmeal first, then add the ingredients. Some people may not know:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Just really liked this and all of its possibilities. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was so easy and pretty good, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockerChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States