Overnight Raisin Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
For those that love pancakes, this is a great recipe. I tried them recently, and have prepared them several times since there. I adjusted the recipe to my family's taste by doubling the amount of cinnamon and raisins in the original recipe. It's also a great way to get children to eat oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
I love this recipe!! I am always concerned my kids don't get enough fiber and I can't get them to touch oatmeal. Now I can with this great recipe!! They LOVE these pancakes!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2000
This is the best pancake recipe I have ever tried! I think I have tried most of them on the internet in search of my mom and grandmother's recipes to no avail. My fiancé and I agreed that, at best, the other's were good, but nothing special. The oatmeal really adds something special to the recipe. We didn't have raisins so I omitted them and topped them with apples sautéed in a pat of butter and just a bit of cinnamon (which I have done with other pancakes). I halved the recipe and the two of us ate them all! YUM! Don't wait until Christmas to try these easy delicious pancakes! Will make again and again...they are definitely worth the wait! Thanks so much for sharing! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Carnes
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
MMMMM!!!! Good, I don't know how you could improve these, just a little more cinnamon is the only thing I did, yummy! Melt the butter before you add it, the recipe is supposed to say that, but it doesn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
These didn't really taste much like pancakes. They were more like a cooked form of oatmeal, but they were still good...just not what I expected. I had some major difficulties flipping them which usually isn't a problem for me. I found that I did need to add more buttermilk than the recipe called for in order to get the right consistancy. I think that I would acc more cinnamon if I made these again, and maybe more flour and less oatmeal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
I made it more fat-friendly and substituted apple butter for the oil- subbed real maple syrup for added sugar, also had no baking powder or baking salt on hand and it came out fine! Great served with sliced bananas and real maple syrup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I doubled the raisins and would recommend that. I found I needed to add more butter milk to thin the mixture just prior to grilling. One could use whole wheat floor I expect to make them even more filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
These were rather different, and I agree with the person who said that it's more oatmeal than pancake. You have to be ready for that. They smell great while you cook them, but the actual flavor didn't live up to my expectations. They were good, but there were leftovers--which means the kids didn't take to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I have been making this recipe for a year now. My son and his hockey, baseball, football (depending on the season) team mates request them at least once a month on game day. These are hungry 17 & 18 year old boys and they rave about them. In fact they have taken to calling them "deb cakes" (sorry Cindy). I love this recipe. As with any recipe it is up to each individual to enhance to their own needs. Extra buttermilk is the only change I have made to this recipe. I serve with homemade syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
We loved this easy recipe. Oatmeal is a favorite in our house and this is a delicious variation. It will be a standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States