Overnight Pork Roast With Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
very good recipe- my family does not like me to cook with beer so I used apple juice instead (good results). I used beef stock in place of the broth (more flavor, less salt). I cut the cabbage in chunks instead of shredding it (my wife's preference)and I just quartered some potatoes and cooked them with the roast. I sliced the meat and served it atop the vegetables - pleasing to the eye and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norton Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Because of time constraints, I applied the rub to the pork just before cooking. To ease preparations, I skipped all the steps about sauteing a little at a time - I just put all the veggies into a big roasting pan and sauteed them all at once until the cabbage had wilted,then put the roast (unbrowned) on top of the veggies and slid it into the oven. It was awesome - I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This rating applies to the rub only. I tried this recipe last year and loved the rub. I found the rest of the recipe to be disappointing. I prefer my sauerkraut white and sour. All the beef broth, beer, and molasses made it too brown and sweet. I did like the carrot and onion, but they couldn't make up for the rest of it. The extra caraway in the sauerkraut gave it an oddly spicy taste. Not to mention the house became incredibly smokey when browning the roast. We had to open the house up! Not a good thing on New Years Day in Ohio!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I made this with sauerkraut. I followed the recipe exactly but potatoes and meat were bland and the meat was also dry. The vegetables were excellent. I think the potatoes need butter and seasoning in them to make them flavourful. If I were to make this again I'd use very lean chops and cut slits in them to rub in the dry mixture before leaving overnight. I probably won't make the whole dish again but I will make the vegetable part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I was hoping for more flavor then what it ended up with, especially for the amount of time you need to put into making this. Tasted alright, although somewhat bland, probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This looks great, but I have a question...Do you just mash up plain potatoes and put them on top or do you actually make mashed potatoes with butter, milk, etc. and then put them on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This recipe was wonderfully different from anything I have ever tried. I am not a fancy cook, but this dinner looked and tasted like it was served at a fine restaurant. Of course, I scribbled the recipe down in haste and forgot to turn over the roast and wait for the internal temp to rise (I knew I bought the meat therm for some reason?!), so I just sliced the pork and cooked for another 20 mins. after the initial 45. My boyfriend and I thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Wow, Wow, Wow! I just can't say enough about this recipe. It really was pretty involved and took a lot of time and advance preparation, but it was well worth it. I made it with saurkraut and it was a hit with my German Grandmother. Make this any time you want to make an impression!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This was very good. I made it for guests who all enjoyed it. A couple even wanted some leftovers to take home! I didn't feel four potatoes were nearly enough, and I increased it to six, but I would use even more next time. I'll just make the mashed potatoes on the side next time, too, since the sliced meat looks so beautiful on top of the carrots and cabbage, and I hate to cover it up at all. This dish has fantastic flavor and I am already planning a dinner party around it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
Wow, this was so good! I followed the recipe exactly. My family loved the vegetable and all. Meat was so moist, I sliced the left over and it made the best sadwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beppu, Oita, Japan
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States