Overnight Pork Roast With Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I was very disappointed with this recipe. Not only did it not tell me when to add the garlic, - after an hour, my 2 lb roast wasn't even cooked through, at 350!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I halved the caraway because I don't like it for the meat rub and left it out completely when sautéing the vegetables. I didn't have beer in house so I used a little rice wine vinegar and that seemed to work. I tried to follow the recipe as close as possible otherwise. I put it in the oven, went to a kids sporting event and when I came home the house smelled delicious. The meat and vegetable were very tasty. I used a whole head of cabbage and still would have like more. Even tastier the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I thought this was really good, loved the taste of caraway. The family didn't comment much except my daughter made a stir fry from the leftover veggies the next day so she enjoyed that part. I only had a few hours to marinate, and served the mashed potatoes on the side. Next time I'll put the mashed potatoes on top and roast as the recipe suggests, as the pork was a little rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruzebra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Hard to rate this correctly as I changed the cut of meat and cooking method. I used a pork roast in the crock pot. Husband did not like the flavor of caraway on the cabbage, but the meat turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Really enjoyed this meal, made jasmine rice instead of the mashed potatoes. Would be nice if the directions included timing etc. for the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This recipe was a hit. I did not change anything and my husband and adult son ate 2/3 of this in one sitting. I will decrease the salt/pepper in the rub next time as my husband thought it was a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I've made this three times, the first time with cabbage,the last 2 times with sauerkraut. Definitely better with the sauerkraut. I used chicken broth instead of beer. Do crush the caraway seeds.I didn't think it would make a difference, but it was a more mellow flavor when crushed.Tried it once in the crock pot, not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Very good taste, Everybody loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Millington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I let my pork roast marinate for two days in the fridge for extra flavor and served boiled potatoes on the side. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was very good! Like most others I made mashed potatoes on the side. Also, I only used 3 teaspoons of caraway thinking it would be too strong but next time I will follow the recipe. The caraway just mellows out and gives everything a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States