Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This was great! What a wonderful idea. I had some leftover wheat french bread and i sliced it into 1 inch slices. I made it in my stoneware 9x13 baker and it came out really well. One thing i would strongly suggest is to add CINNAMON to the egg mixture....what's french toast without cinnamon?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Yhis is excellent and so easy. I made 2 for Christmas morning - one with cinnamon raisin bread, and one with cranberry orange bread, They were both delicious - not a crumb left. This will be a new tradition for holiday brunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
A bit too sweet. I had the bread in the fridge for about 10 hours (overnight) and it was too soggy. Next time I'll cut the sugar back and leave in fridge for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
I've been looking for a good "soak overnight, bake in the morning" French toast recipe. It was very convenient to simply pop it in the oven, and the tops of the slices browned and crisped very nicely. However, the lower half of every slice was a soggy mess. The butter and brown sugar layer at the bottom tasted great, a nice alternative to serving with syrup, but I would cut the amounts by half next time. Also, I'd leave out at least one egg. I substituted maple syrup for the corn syrup for a richer flavor. I didn't care for this recipe that much, but the four guys I live with all gave it rave reviews...go figure! So we'll probably try it again, with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Simple and Fantastic. My husband visited Alaska and told me about the BEST overnight french toast he had and bought me the recipe back from the cook:) The recipe is exactly the same except I invert the pan when it is done cooking onto a serving platter and the syrup/sauce doesn't cause it to harden in the pan and it looks pretty to present dusted with powder sugar and toasted coconut. I have make this about 25 times for company and holidays, a MUST to eat!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I followed the recipe pretty exactly, and it was good, but it does harden fast in the pan. The thickness and stickiness of the caramel sauce made it hard to eat the last few bites (as it cooled a little). This was good, but there are recipes for similar dishes that I enjoy much more on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This tastes great. But, don't let it cool in the pan too long. The bottom will turn rock hard after about and hour or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This recipe has been a huge hit, time and time again. Everyone who I have made it for has asked for recipe. The best thing, besides the taste, it's super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I tried this with Texas Toast. Maybe it was the bread-or maybe I did something wrong-but the toast was pretty soggy. The crust was really good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I found this recipe after I couldn't find my mother's recipe for Skiiers French Toast....I love this recipe! There were many complaints about this recipe, but I didn't have any problems. Here are some things I did do that weren't clear in the directions....I used the whole loaf of bread making a double layer. I doubled the syrup recipe, pouring most of it on the bottom and a little in between layers, but not using all of it just in case it would be too sweet. I did not time the baking, I just kept checking on it while the kids opened their Christmas presents, but I really don't think it took too much time....maybe a little over the recommended 45 minutes. I just watched it till the top started to brown. It was not mushy, or too sweet...I really think it was just right. I did use a Pampered Chef stoneware baking dish, maybe that's why I didn't have any problems with the syrup getting hard after it cooled. I hate to say it, but I like this recipe better than my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States