Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
I've been looking for a good "soak overnight, bake in the morning" French toast recipe. It was very convenient to simply pop it in the oven, and the tops of the slices browned and crisped very nicely. However, the lower half of every slice was a soggy mess. The butter and brown sugar layer at the bottom tasted great, a nice alternative to serving with syrup, but I would cut the amounts by half next time. Also, I'd leave out at least one egg. I substituted maple syrup for the corn syrup for a richer flavor. I didn't care for this recipe that much, but the four guys I live with all gave it rave reviews...go figure! So we'll probably try it again, with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This is very easy to make but I found it very sweet. The bread comes out nice and moist. Maybe less sugar next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I tried this with Texas Toast. Maybe it was the bread-or maybe I did something wrong-but the toast was pretty soggy. The crust was really good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This tastes great. But, don't let it cool in the pan too long. The bottom will turn rock hard after about and hour or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Great......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
A bit too sweet. I had the bread in the fridge for about 10 hours (overnight) and it was too soggy. Next time I'll cut the sugar back and leave in fridge for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Yhis is excellent and so easy. I made 2 for Christmas morning - one with cinnamon raisin bread, and one with cranberry orange bread, They were both delicious - not a crumb left. This will be a new tradition for holiday brunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This was great! What a wonderful idea. I had some leftover wheat french bread and i sliced it into 1 inch slices. I made it in my stoneware 9x13 baker and it came out really well. One thing i would strongly suggest is to add CINNAMON to the egg mixture....what's french toast without cinnamon?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I followed the recipe pretty exactly, and it was good, but it does harden fast in the pan. The thickness and stickiness of the caramel sauce made it hard to eat the last few bites (as it cooled a little). This was good, but there are recipes for similar dishes that I enjoy much more on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This recipe has been a huge hit, time and time again. Everyone who I have made it for has asked for recipe. The best thing, besides the taste, it's super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States