Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I've made this a few times. A couple with french bread and a couple w/ a loaf of cinnamon bread. Personally, I liked it better w/ french, but hubby likes it w/ the cinnamon. It's a great recipe. Making again this weekend for family coming in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I make this all the time! Everyone LOVES it! The only thing I do differently is use maple syrup instead of corn syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Fantastic recipe. Everyone we have ever served it to loves it. Suggestions: bake it a little longer - maybe 60 minutes, which reduces the sogginess some other reviewers mentioned; make it with cinnamon raisin bread for over-the-top decadence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was really good and easy to prepare. For the most part, I followed the recipe except that I used a different kind of bread and sprinkled cinnamon all over the top. My husband thought it tasted like a cinnamon roll. Some of the bread was a bit soggy but I didn't mind. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was fun to throw together the night before and just pop in the oven in the morning. I thought it was pretty good, wasn't thrilled with the flavor - thought it needed maple syrup instead of corn syrup and definitely cinnamon too. I followed the recipe exactly for the first time making it though. My husband and son both loved it though - my hubby had never had overnight French toast and I think he was very pleasantly surprised! The crisp edges are a nice contrast to the moist and tender center pieces. I also suggest cutting your bread into less pieces - maybe more like 10 total pieces. I cut mine smaller and had a hard time fitting them all in the 9x13 pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
it was ok-soggy but the Carmel stuff was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Litzen Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoven, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Very tasty, and I will make it again. The bread that I used was a very crusty sourdough, which didn't absorb all the liquid. It was delicious, but I would like to tweek this recipe a little so this problem is resolved. It's a great, make-ahead recipe-- and I love those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made this for easter brunch and got rave reviews from everyone including my husband, who considers himself an expert on french toast. What a great twist on a family favorite! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is an awesome french toast recipe. I made this for Easter breakfast for my family and they loved it. I should tell you that I read all of the reviews and was a little hesitant about serving the hot meal to my toddlers, but quickly realized that my french toast was not hardening like everyone warned. The only thing I can think of is that I cooked the syrup, butter and brown sugar for a longer period of time on low heat to ensure that the sugar crystals melted. Once I was done cooking this mixture, it was like a caramel sauce. That's the only thing I did differently. Hope this helps...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel Bucar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I doubled the recipe for the sauce, but only used 1 and 1/2 cup brown sugar - too sweet. I used 15. oz of bread (6 mini loaves of French bread). I used 9 eggs and 1 3/4 cup milk, adding 1 T of cinnamon, and used 2 t. vanilla and 1 t. salt. I let it sit overnight. The bread beforehand was soft. I put 1/2 the sauce on the bottom of the pan and 1/2 on top. I added 3/4 c. raisins in the middle of all the bread. It turned out great and the people at church loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States