Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I thought this turned out good. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and layered half the sugar mixture, a layer of bread, half the egg mixture, the rest of the sugar, the rest of the bread & finished with the remaining egg mixture. It could have used more egg mixture as the top layer was quite dry. Also I used real, hefty French bread. A white bread or fluffy French bread would have been too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Make more custard than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is absolutely delicious--I've made it at least 5 times so far. I actually use Texas Toast and layer the ingredients in my 9 x 13 glass Pyrex. 1/2 sugar mixture goes on the bottom, then a layer of bread, then 1/2 egg mixture. I put most of the remaining sugar mixture on top of that, and repeat with the bread and remaining egg mixture. I end up with a dollop of the sugar mixture on each piece of egg-soaked bread and refrigerate. I've never had a problem with hardening sugar on the bottom of the pan this way. (Next time, I may try adding some cinnamon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe. It makes a crunchier side with the butter/brown sugar that tastes amazing.Easy to make and only a few ingredients too!! The only comment that my husband made that the texture. When you let it sit overnight gets kind of a creamy texture in the middle (even when cooked well). We both loved it but it is not exactly the same as regular french toast if that is what you are expecting. In my opinion, I like this even better than traditional french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Great Recipe! Used day old bread and it worked great. It didn't get hard as the others were mentioning. I would also cut the bread into smaller pieces more like bread pudding for next time. People didn't understand to take some all the way to the bottom and then they missed out on the yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Way too sweet for our liking...we may cut down on the syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This recipe came out very sweet and the bottom part of the bread was really soggy. Maybe it was because I used sliced white bread instead of the french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Agree with not letting it harden in pan. Wonderful recipe. Just test with a knife in center to guarantee doneness. I prefer to bring casserole nearly to room temp in warm oven just prior to actually baking. It's always puffy & done. For an extra rich casserole, use stale cake or old fashioned doughnuts in place of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I found this recipe after I couldn't find my mother's recipe for Skiiers French Toast....I love this recipe! There were many complaints about this recipe, but I didn't have any problems. Here are some things I did do that weren't clear in the directions....I used the whole loaf of bread making a double layer. I doubled the syrup recipe, pouring most of it on the bottom and a little in between layers, but not using all of it just in case it would be too sweet. I did not time the baking, I just kept checking on it while the kids opened their Christmas presents, but I really don't think it took too much time....maybe a little over the recommended 45 minutes. I just watched it till the top started to brown. It was not mushy, or too sweet...I really think it was just right. I did use a Pampered Chef stoneware baking dish, maybe that's why I didn't have any problems with the syrup getting hard after it cooled. I hate to say it, but I like this recipe better than my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States