Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Good recipe! I changed serving size from 5 to 7, and baked in a 10 x 13 pan. Actually had two layers of french bread, and think it might have been better to not increase and only have one layer, although I had no trouble with both layers getting cooked through, although it's not going to be "firm", even when thoroughly cooked. I dumped it upside down on a serving tray to make sure it didn't stick, and it didn't ... don't understand the people who complained about it hardening in the pan or turning hard! Good layer of sweetness, but not overpowering, although no one felt like it needed either butter or additional syrup! Nice to be able to make this the night before and just stick it in the oven when we woke up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Wonderful. I didn't have any problems with sticking. I used Pepperidge Farm pumpkin spice bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Family loved it! Very easy to follow directions. I sprayed the bottom of the pan, so none stuck. Added cinnamon and nutmeg...thought it was great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Great recipe! It will serve 8, if needed. This was the first item to go at my breakfast that included five other casseroles. Easy to make but has great flavor and impact. We did not serve syrup on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Great and so easy! I used cinnamon/raisin bread and cubed it. I didn't have corn syrup and it was fine without it. I made it on Saturday afternoon and put it in the refrigerator and let it sit all night. Such a great dish! Everyone loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I thought this turned out good. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and layered half the sugar mixture, a layer of bread, half the egg mixture, the rest of the sugar, the rest of the bread & finished with the remaining egg mixture. It could have used more egg mixture as the top layer was quite dry. Also I used real, hefty French bread. A white bread or fluffy French bread would have been too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Make more custard than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is absolutely delicious--I've made it at least 5 times so far. I actually use Texas Toast and layer the ingredients in my 9 x 13 glass Pyrex. 1/2 sugar mixture goes on the bottom, then a layer of bread, then 1/2 egg mixture. I put most of the remaining sugar mixture on top of that, and repeat with the bread and remaining egg mixture. I end up with a dollop of the sugar mixture on each piece of egg-soaked bread and refrigerate. I've never had a problem with hardening sugar on the bottom of the pan this way. (Next time, I may try adding some cinnamon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe. It makes a crunchier side with the butter/brown sugar that tastes amazing.Easy to make and only a few ingredients too!! The only comment that my husband made that the texture. When you let it sit overnight gets kind of a creamy texture in the middle (even when cooked well). We both loved it but it is not exactly the same as regular french toast if that is what you are expecting. In my opinion, I like this even better than traditional french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States