Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
It was very good and easy which is always a great thing! I added a little cinnamon to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I cut my french bread pretty thick so it soaked up everything. It cooked great but next time I'll put in more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
4 stars mainly cause the recipe i have used for years with no flaws does not have the syrup baked into it if you just bake the bread and egg mixture as directed no hardening, just serve with the warm syrup on the side by reading the recipe yo ushould know its gonna harden because of the cook temp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I didn't actually get to try this - I made it for a friend's birthday and I'm trusting her review of this : ) - said it was "to die for, rich and yummy" - the bottom/syrup layer was a bit much, so I'll try cutting back next time. I did use cinnamon raisin bread for a twist (making two layers to use up the whole bread bag - doesn't specify the layering in the recipe, so I guess it's assumed,) and apparently the cooking time was good. Doesn't get any easier, so I look forward to trying it myself soon! (*UPDATE! - made this weekend for a mom/kids beach getaway, and we polished it OFF in one sitting! I was delighted! Used cheap blueberry bread - highly recommend - cut back on brown sugar to 1/2 c., spread that part out in pan, brought milk/egg mixture with cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla in a thermos to the beach and added it on top of the bread once there - baked next morning and delighted in it being gobbled up. My friend's 11 year old asked, "Would you consider sharing this recipe?" : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakingaddict
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Turned out just okay. Good if you don't want to use cream like some of the other baked french toast recipes on the site, but I think I'd still prefer using those recipes with the cream omitted, over this one. I think maybe it might turn out better if the bread is soaked in the egg mixture overnight and then the syrup poured on top right before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was very good. I made it the morning of and used Texas Toast and let it sit for an hour before baking. Everyone loved it and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is SO easy to make and it is such a hit with everyone I have made it for. It has become my new make ahead breakfast for new moms! It stores up to 2 days in the fridge before baking and it always turns out yummy. It's the one recipe everyone always asks for when I make it! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Outrageous, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I added some cinnamon and only refrigerated it for an hour and a half and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Fabulous breakfast recipe when paired with sausage. Now a staple when company comes over. I don't put it in overnight though, too soggy. I also add a bit of Jamaican rum extract along with the vanilla extract--yummy! Cinnamon is a must too in both mixtures. Comes out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carie Parker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States