Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
You must adjust this recipe based on how much bread and the dryness of the bread that you are using. Like others mentioned I cooked mine covered for 30 minutes and then uncovered for 10 to prevent drying. I only had half an old loaf of French bread so I cut the eggs and mink in half and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Used leftover rolls instead of French bread and it turned out perfectly! It was a great Christmas morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deanna
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I cut this recipe in half and used 3 eggs instead of 5 and put it in a glass 9x9 square baking dish. A few more changes I made were adding cinnamon to the egg mixture and replaced regular milk with Almond milk. After I put the sugar mixture in the pan I sliced a banana and gently set a layer of bananas on top of it. I used fresh Italian bread and sliced it about an inch thick (about 5 slices fit in the dish). Baked it on 350 for about 40 minutes. My daughter said it was awesome and I thought so too. It was not mushy and the crust was so chewy and delicious. I will definitely make it again. Oh and we DID use a little maple syrup on top but it did not need much so apparently it wasn't too sweet for us. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was a big success at our brunch today. Deserving of more stars than the 5. Several of our guests asked for the recipe. Very slight changes: substituted maple syrup for the corn syrup, egg nog for the milk and I added 2 tsp cinnamon to the custard. For serving, I inverted the French Toast onto a serving serving platter - there was no problem with the sauce hardening. Like another reviewer I made the Oats N Honey bread just for this recipe. Delicious - I'll be using this recipe again soon. Thanks for posting BOBSROAD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Perfect low effort breakfast for company! I sprinkled cinnamon on top and it's everyone's new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This is an excellent dish. Usually throw this together on Christmas Eve and take it to the grandparents for breakfast Christmas morning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heiherb
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
YUM YUM!!! Easy and delicious. I cut an old french stick into 3cm slices and made per recipe but with 3/4 cup sugar and adding cinnamon and nutmeg on the top. Did not find it soggy at all. Next time i will add some berries around the bread slices or sliced banana in the caramel layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Taste great but of course I had the issue with parts being soggy. Not sure if cook time being longer would work (like almost double the time) but that's what I will try next cause this is an awesome recipe. Reminds me of monkey bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Good but too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Love this recipe but I tweaked it a bit. Before putting in fridge I add cinnamon on top. After letting it sit for a couple of hours, I flip each piece so that the syrup soaks in on both sides. Let it sit over night, then bake as directed and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States