Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Yhis is excellent and so easy. I made 2 for Christmas morning - one with cinnamon raisin bread, and one with cranberry orange bread, They were both delicious - not a crumb left. This will be a new tradition for holiday brunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Normally after we open our gifts on Christmas morning, we grab a quick bite and then rush around getting ready to spend the day with family and friends. To my hubby and children's delight, I made an executive decision to have Christmas at home. Everyone asked me to make a huge breakfast and this recipe was part of my menu. I can't tell you how much this was loved! I used challah bread, only soaked for about an hour and a half, didn't use the corn syrup, added lots of cinnamon and because I had it around for the holiday, I replaced the milk with eggnog. Once done, I turned the casserole upside down onto a dish. The caramalized sauce ran all down the sides and looked really pretty. Thanks Sarah for a great recipe that didn't even taste like french toast; more like a very yummy gooey pastry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This tastes great. But, don't let it cool in the pan too long. The bottom will turn rock hard after about and hour or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This recipe has been a huge hit, time and time again. Everyone who I have made it for has asked for recipe. The best thing, besides the taste, it's super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This was great! What a wonderful idea. I had some leftover wheat french bread and i sliced it into 1 inch slices. I made it in my stoneware 9x13 baker and it came out really well. One thing i would strongly suggest is to add CINNAMON to the egg mixture....what's french toast without cinnamon?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
My friend was getting married and I was a bridesmaid. we were all getting reday at yher moms house that day and her mom made this for breakfast, it was a huge hit with the nridesmaids. I thought it was delicious and needed to get a copy for myself and will definitely plan to make on my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
this is a GREAT recipe. A staple item for my family of six. I have also adapted this recipe for us in a retreat where I fed 60 hungry men. This is certainly one of those "stick to your ribs" kind of meal. mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
We have breakfast Friday's where I work in which a group of us alternate the responsibility. I always make something instead of buying it, and so I made this for our breakfast today and received many compliments! I did toast my french bread for about 10 minutes before adding it to the syrup. I placed slices of bread first and then filled in the gaps with quarted pieces of bread. (I used french baguettes) So there was some "crunch" to go with the softer bread at the bottom. It was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Very easy and delicious. I made it the night before and served it for a Christmas brunch. It made a big hit. Serve with lots of applesauce or fresh fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Extremely easy and a big hit with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States