Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Everyone loves this dish! I cook it for our monthly breakfast at church. Never any left. I also have made it with the gluetin free bread. but it is best to cube it, because the bread is so dense. Still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe!! I too added a tsp of cinnamon to the recipe and really liked it!! This is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I have made this several times and it's always a huge hit and I always get asked for the recipe. I do not use corn syrup (because I don't want to buy it) and just use syrup in it's place....very good. I add a teaspoon of cinnamon. You don't even need additional syrup when eating. Update: I have made this countless number of times, including for cooking club. It is ALWAYS a huge hit and I constantly get asked for the recipe. Challah bread makes this dish AMAZING! I couldn't find any French bread at the grocery store so the baker suggested this. He told me to double the egg and milk mixture though since it soaks up a lot more liquid than regular French bread. I decided to multiply the egg and milk mixture by about 1.5 and it was perfect! I still make this with regular bread but the challah bread is so much better. I have actually made this recipe (just for my husband and I) with hoagies that had been in the freezer too long and it was still great. A continued favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
My husband would give it 6 stars! I followed the recipe (thought I did add cinnamon to the egg mixture), but I had a whole loaf of french bread, so I had two layers of bread (about 1 or 2 inch slices). This was awesome because it had a crunchier layer. I turned the pan over on a baking sheet to let the syrup run over all of the layers and the crunchy was on the bottom, which made it easier to serve, and very beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilywise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This was excellent, I sprinkled cinnamon on top. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I added a special syrup topping on the side. It was a container of cream cheese blend together with enough maple syrup to make it the consistency of syrup! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was really good but I am not sure I would call it French Toast. It was more of a gooey, sweet pastry. I took this to work and there was not a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I thought this turned out pretty good. I only had sour dough bread tho so that might have cut down on the sweetness. I left in a warm oven so it didn't get hard on me. Was great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe was good. I didn't want it soggy, and my family would never wait for breakfast for as long as it took to preheat and cook it, so I made it for lunch, got it ready in the morning. Its true, I love sweet things and usually am not bothered, but this is way too sweet. I could not finish mine. Also, even though mine only soaked for less than 2 hours, it was still very very soggy on the bottom. I don't know how to correct that problem. This is a fine recipe though if you cut back on the sugar. I wonder if it would work to soak it, then flip the bread over before baking? I might try that next time. I love this type of food, just can't get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I did a dry run and my taste testers suggested putting the candy in the middle instead of on the bottom. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States