Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
It was good but not exceptional. It was really nice the have a hot breakfast though, without all the work. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 a cup and it was perfectly enough. The result, if cooked as long as recommended, isn't soggy at all but extremely moist. This was a nice recipe for lazy mornings but it definitely can't replace some freshly made french toast. Thanks for sharing this this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made this for some overnight guests and we loved it! I followed the recipe exactly (I was sure to cut my bread in very thick slices) and even my pregnant best friend couldn't complain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I used maple syrup instead of corn syrup, and I added half a teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg to the second mixture. Instead of putting the bread slices over the sugar-butter mixture, I coated each slice of bread with this mixture. I think it helped even out the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was awesome! I used a batard and followed the recipe exactly. I did spray the pan before adding the ingredients and did not have any problem with is sticking to the glass pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I cut the recipe in half, using two eggs and cooked it in an 8x8 glass dish. I loved it, next time I think I'll use maple syrup instead of corn. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made this for Christmas morning last year and although it had good flavor, it was a bit dry if you are using a full loaf of store-bought french bread. This year I made it for a brunch and added EASILY five more eggs and half cup of milk. Turned out PERFECTLY moist and fully baked. Not dry bread on top! got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
YUMMY!!! Even the left overs were yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGBOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was a little too sweet for us. I will make it again with less of the syrup on the bottom. I loved having a whole pan of french toast ready at one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
OMG...this is delicious!! I subbed real maple syrup for the corn syrup and the whole kitchen smelled delish when it was cooking. I think that this would be another great Christmas morning goodie! We didn't have problems getting the leftovers out of the pan. Reheated them the next day in the microwave! Try this...it's great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is the exact same recipe as my mother-in-laws! I always have people asking for this recipe. Her recipe calls for ENGLISH MUFFIN BREAD though and it doesn't come out soggy! And it will definitely make a difference if you cook it in a glass pan or others. I recommend glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Ruhland Wirtzfeld
Home Town: Eden Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States