Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I make this all the time! Everyone LOVES it! The only thing I do differently is use maple syrup instead of corn syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Fantastic recipe. Everyone we have ever served it to loves it. Suggestions: bake it a little longer - maybe 60 minutes, which reduces the sogginess some other reviewers mentioned; make it with cinnamon raisin bread for over-the-top decadence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was really good and easy to prepare. For the most part, I followed the recipe except that I used a different kind of bread and sprinkled cinnamon all over the top. My husband thought it tasted like a cinnamon roll. Some of the bread was a bit soggy but I didn't mind. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was fun to throw together the night before and just pop in the oven in the morning. I thought it was pretty good, wasn't thrilled with the flavor - thought it needed maple syrup instead of corn syrup and definitely cinnamon too. I followed the recipe exactly for the first time making it though. My husband and son both loved it though - my hubby had never had overnight French toast and I think he was very pleasantly surprised! The crisp edges are a nice contrast to the moist and tender center pieces. I also suggest cutting your bread into less pieces - maybe more like 10 total pieces. I cut mine smaller and had a hard time fitting them all in the 9x13 pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
it was ok-soggy but the Carmel stuff was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Litzen Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoven, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Very tasty, and I will make it again. The bread that I used was a very crusty sourdough, which didn't absorb all the liquid. It was delicious, but I would like to tweek this recipe a little so this problem is resolved. It's a great, make-ahead recipe-- and I love those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made this for easter brunch and got rave reviews from everyone including my husband, who considers himself an expert on french toast. What a great twist on a family favorite! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is an awesome french toast recipe. I made this for Easter breakfast for my family and they loved it. I should tell you that I read all of the reviews and was a little hesitant about serving the hot meal to my toddlers, but quickly realized that my french toast was not hardening like everyone warned. The only thing I can think of is that I cooked the syrup, butter and brown sugar for a longer period of time on low heat to ensure that the sugar crystals melted. Once I was done cooking this mixture, it was like a caramel sauce. That's the only thing I did differently. Hope this helps...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel Bucar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I doubled the recipe for the sauce, but only used 1 and 1/2 cup brown sugar - too sweet. I used 15. oz of bread (6 mini loaves of French bread). I used 9 eggs and 1 3/4 cup milk, adding 1 T of cinnamon, and used 2 t. vanilla and 1 t. salt. I let it sit overnight. The bread beforehand was soft. I put 1/2 the sauce on the bottom of the pan and 1/2 on top. I added 3/4 c. raisins in the middle of all the bread. It turned out great and the people at church loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
It was good but not exceptional. It was really nice the have a hot breakfast though, without all the work. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 a cup and it was perfectly enough. The result, if cooked as long as recommended, isn't soggy at all but extremely moist. This was a nice recipe for lazy mornings but it definitely can't replace some freshly made french toast. Thanks for sharing this this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France

Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States