Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Great and so easy! I used cinnamon/raisin bread and cubed it. I didn't have corn syrup and it was fine without it. I made it on Saturday afternoon and put it in the refrigerator and let it sit all night. Such a great dish! Everyone loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I thought this turned out good. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and layered half the sugar mixture, a layer of bread, half the egg mixture, the rest of the sugar, the rest of the bread & finished with the remaining egg mixture. It could have used more egg mixture as the top layer was quite dry. Also I used real, hefty French bread. A white bread or fluffy French bread would have been too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Make more custard than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is absolutely delicious--I've made it at least 5 times so far. I actually use Texas Toast and layer the ingredients in my 9 x 13 glass Pyrex. 1/2 sugar mixture goes on the bottom, then a layer of bread, then 1/2 egg mixture. I put most of the remaining sugar mixture on top of that, and repeat with the bread and remaining egg mixture. I end up with a dollop of the sugar mixture on each piece of egg-soaked bread and refrigerate. I've never had a problem with hardening sugar on the bottom of the pan this way. (Next time, I may try adding some cinnamon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe. It makes a crunchier side with the butter/brown sugar that tastes amazing.Easy to make and only a few ingredients too!! The only comment that my husband made that the texture. When you let it sit overnight gets kind of a creamy texture in the middle (even when cooked well). We both loved it but it is not exactly the same as regular french toast if that is what you are expecting. In my opinion, I like this even better than traditional french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Great Recipe! Used day old bread and it worked great. It didn't get hard as the others were mentioning. I would also cut the bread into smaller pieces more like bread pudding for next time. People didn't understand to take some all the way to the bottom and then they missed out on the yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Way too sweet for our liking...we may cut down on the syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This recipe came out very sweet and the bottom part of the bread was really soggy. Maybe it was because I used sliced white bread instead of the french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Agree with not letting it harden in pan. Wonderful recipe. Just test with a knife in center to guarantee doneness. I prefer to bring casserole nearly to room temp in warm oven just prior to actually baking. It's always puffy & done. For an extra rich casserole, use stale cake or old fashioned doughnuts in place of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States