Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I make a lot of versions of this, so I am pretty hip to the fact that these get soggy. That said, REDUCE THE MILK! Eyeballing the milk I put in, I'd say it was about 1/2 cup. Cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup too. Added in Almond extract, vanilla extract, Penzey's Cake Spice and then a ton of cinnamon. Perfect for those rushed holiday mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Very good but took longer to cook than stated. was still a little mushy in center after 55 min. didnt want it to burn. will try next time just setting up 1-2 hours as opposed to overnight. I added cinnamon as well per others suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 143sidney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This recipe was delish!!! The only thing different I did was, turn the bread before baking, this ensured that both sides were crispy. Mine did not gte hard even after cooling. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
It was very good and easy which is always a great thing! I added a little cinnamon to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I cut my french bread pretty thick so it soaked up everything. It cooked great but next time I'll put in more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
4 stars mainly cause the recipe i have used for years with no flaws does not have the syrup baked into it if you just bake the bread and egg mixture as directed no hardening, just serve with the warm syrup on the side by reading the recipe yo ushould know its gonna harden because of the cook temp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I didn't actually get to try this - I made it for a friend's birthday and I'm trusting her review of this : ) - said it was "to die for, rich and yummy" - the bottom/syrup layer was a bit much, so I'll try cutting back next time. I did use cinnamon raisin bread for a twist (making two layers to use up the whole bread bag - doesn't specify the layering in the recipe, so I guess it's assumed,) and apparently the cooking time was good. Doesn't get any easier, so I look forward to trying it myself soon! (*UPDATE! - made this weekend for a mom/kids beach getaway, and we polished it OFF in one sitting! I was delighted! Used cheap blueberry bread - highly recommend - cut back on brown sugar to 1/2 c., spread that part out in pan, brought milk/egg mixture with cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla in a thermos to the beach and added it on top of the bread once there - baked next morning and delighted in it being gobbled up. My friend's 11 year old asked, "Would you consider sharing this recipe?" : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakingaddict
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Turned out just okay. Good if you don't want to use cream like some of the other baked french toast recipes on the site, but I think I'd still prefer using those recipes with the cream omitted, over this one. I think maybe it might turn out better if the bread is soaked in the egg mixture overnight and then the syrup poured on top right before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was very good. I made it the morning of and used Texas Toast and let it sit for an hour before baking. Everyone loved it and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is SO easy to make and it is such a hit with everyone I have made it for. It has become my new make ahead breakfast for new moms! It stores up to 2 days in the fridge before baking and it always turns out yummy. It's the one recipe everyone always asks for when I make it! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States