Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This was excellent, I sprinkled cinnamon on top. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I added a special syrup topping on the side. It was a container of cream cheese blend together with enough maple syrup to make it the consistency of syrup! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was really good but I am not sure I would call it French Toast. It was more of a gooey, sweet pastry. I took this to work and there was not a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I thought this turned out pretty good. I only had sour dough bread tho so that might have cut down on the sweetness. I left in a warm oven so it didn't get hard on me. Was great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe was good. I didn't want it soggy, and my family would never wait for breakfast for as long as it took to preheat and cook it, so I made it for lunch, got it ready in the morning. Its true, I love sweet things and usually am not bothered, but this is way too sweet. I could not finish mine. Also, even though mine only soaked for less than 2 hours, it was still very very soggy on the bottom. I don't know how to correct that problem. This is a fine recipe though if you cut back on the sugar. I wonder if it would work to soak it, then flip the bread over before baking? I might try that next time. I love this type of food, just can't get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I did a dry run and my taste testers suggested putting the candy in the middle instead of on the bottom. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I make a lot of versions of this, so I am pretty hip to the fact that these get soggy. That said, REDUCE THE MILK! Eyeballing the milk I put in, I'd say it was about 1/2 cup. Cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup too. Added in Almond extract, vanilla extract, Penzey's Cake Spice and then a ton of cinnamon. Perfect for those rushed holiday mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Very good but took longer to cook than stated. was still a little mushy in center after 55 min. didnt want it to burn. will try next time just setting up 1-2 hours as opposed to overnight. I added cinnamon as well per others suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 143sidney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This recipe was delish!!! The only thing different I did was, turn the bread before baking, this ensured that both sides were crispy. Mine did not gte hard even after cooling. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
It was very good and easy which is always a great thing! I added a little cinnamon to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States