Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Used leftover rolls instead of French bread and it turned out perfectly! It was a great Christmas morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deanna
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I cut this recipe in half and used 3 eggs instead of 5 and put it in a glass 9x9 square baking dish. A few more changes I made were adding cinnamon to the egg mixture and replaced regular milk with Almond milk. After I put the sugar mixture in the pan I sliced a banana and gently set a layer of bananas on top of it. I used fresh Italian bread and sliced it about an inch thick (about 5 slices fit in the dish). Baked it on 350 for about 40 minutes. My daughter said it was awesome and I thought so too. It was not mushy and the crust was so chewy and delicious. I will definitely make it again. Oh and we DID use a little maple syrup on top but it did not need much so apparently it wasn't too sweet for us. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was a big success at our brunch today. Deserving of more stars than the 5. Several of our guests asked for the recipe. Very slight changes: substituted maple syrup for the corn syrup, egg nog for the milk and I added 2 tsp cinnamon to the custard. For serving, I inverted the French Toast onto a serving serving platter - there was no problem with the sauce hardening. Like another reviewer I made the Oats N Honey bread just for this recipe. Delicious - I'll be using this recipe again soon. Thanks for posting BOBSROAD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Perfect low effort breakfast for company! I sprinkled cinnamon on top and it's everyone's new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This is an excellent dish. Usually throw this together on Christmas Eve and take it to the grandparents for breakfast Christmas morning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heiherb
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
YUM YUM!!! Easy and delicious. I cut an old french stick into 3cm slices and made per recipe but with 3/4 cup sugar and adding cinnamon and nutmeg on the top. Did not find it soggy at all. Next time i will add some berries around the bread slices or sliced banana in the caramel layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Taste great but of course I had the issue with parts being soggy. Not sure if cook time being longer would work (like almost double the time) but that's what I will try next cause this is an awesome recipe. Reminds me of monkey bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Good but too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Love this recipe but I tweaked it a bit. Before putting in fridge I add cinnamon on top. After letting it sit for a couple of hours, I flip each piece so that the syrup soaks in on both sides. Let it sit over night, then bake as directed and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trusguy
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Great and simple way to get the work done early and enjoy the delicious results in the morning. Rather than french bread on my second dish I used Texas toast and sprinkled cinnamon on top after egg mix is added. Turned out great. Leftover is plated, wrapped and frozen to be heated in microwave when a quick hot breakfast is desired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States