Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
it was ok-soggy but the Carmel stuff was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Litzen Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoven, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Very tasty, and I will make it again. The bread that I used was a very crusty sourdough, which didn't absorb all the liquid. It was delicious, but I would like to tweek this recipe a little so this problem is resolved. It's a great, make-ahead recipe-- and I love those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made this for easter brunch and got rave reviews from everyone including my husband, who considers himself an expert on french toast. What a great twist on a family favorite! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is an awesome french toast recipe. I made this for Easter breakfast for my family and they loved it. I should tell you that I read all of the reviews and was a little hesitant about serving the hot meal to my toddlers, but quickly realized that my french toast was not hardening like everyone warned. The only thing I can think of is that I cooked the syrup, butter and brown sugar for a longer period of time on low heat to ensure that the sugar crystals melted. Once I was done cooking this mixture, it was like a caramel sauce. That's the only thing I did differently. Hope this helps...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel Bucar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I doubled the recipe for the sauce, but only used 1 and 1/2 cup brown sugar - too sweet. I used 15. oz of bread (6 mini loaves of French bread). I used 9 eggs and 1 3/4 cup milk, adding 1 T of cinnamon, and used 2 t. vanilla and 1 t. salt. I let it sit overnight. The bread beforehand was soft. I put 1/2 the sauce on the bottom of the pan and 1/2 on top. I added 3/4 c. raisins in the middle of all the bread. It turned out great and the people at church loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
It was good but not exceptional. It was really nice the have a hot breakfast though, without all the work. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 a cup and it was perfectly enough. The result, if cooked as long as recommended, isn't soggy at all but extremely moist. This was a nice recipe for lazy mornings but it definitely can't replace some freshly made french toast. Thanks for sharing this this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made this for some overnight guests and we loved it! I followed the recipe exactly (I was sure to cut my bread in very thick slices) and even my pregnant best friend couldn't complain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I used maple syrup instead of corn syrup, and I added half a teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg to the second mixture. Instead of putting the bread slices over the sugar-butter mixture, I coated each slice of bread with this mixture. I think it helped even out the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was awesome! I used a batard and followed the recipe exactly. I did spray the pan before adding the ingredients and did not have any problem with is sticking to the glass pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I cut the recipe in half, using two eggs and cooked it in an 8x8 glass dish. I loved it, next time I think I'll use maple syrup instead of corn. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States