Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is absolutely delicious--I've made it at least 5 times so far. I actually use Texas Toast and layer the ingredients in my 9 x 13 glass Pyrex. 1/2 sugar mixture goes on the bottom, then a layer of bread, then 1/2 egg mixture. I put most of the remaining sugar mixture on top of that, and repeat with the bread and remaining egg mixture. I end up with a dollop of the sugar mixture on each piece of egg-soaked bread and refrigerate. I've never had a problem with hardening sugar on the bottom of the pan this way. (Next time, I may try adding some cinnamon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe. It makes a crunchier side with the butter/brown sugar that tastes amazing.Easy to make and only a few ingredients too!! The only comment that my husband made that the texture. When you let it sit overnight gets kind of a creamy texture in the middle (even when cooked well). We both loved it but it is not exactly the same as regular french toast if that is what you are expecting. In my opinion, I like this even better than traditional french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Great Recipe! Used day old bread and it worked great. It didn't get hard as the others were mentioning. I would also cut the bread into smaller pieces more like bread pudding for next time. People didn't understand to take some all the way to the bottom and then they missed out on the yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Way too sweet for our liking...we may cut down on the syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This recipe came out very sweet and the bottom part of the bread was really soggy. Maybe it was because I used sliced white bread instead of the french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Agree with not letting it harden in pan. Wonderful recipe. Just test with a knife in center to guarantee doneness. I prefer to bring casserole nearly to room temp in warm oven just prior to actually baking. It's always puffy & done. For an extra rich casserole, use stale cake or old fashioned doughnuts in place of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I found this recipe after I couldn't find my mother's recipe for Skiiers French Toast....I love this recipe! There were many complaints about this recipe, but I didn't have any problems. Here are some things I did do that weren't clear in the directions....I used the whole loaf of bread making a double layer. I doubled the syrup recipe, pouring most of it on the bottom and a little in between layers, but not using all of it just in case it would be too sweet. I did not time the baking, I just kept checking on it while the kids opened their Christmas presents, but I really don't think it took too much time....maybe a little over the recommended 45 minutes. I just watched it till the top started to brown. It was not mushy, or too sweet...I really think it was just right. I did use a Pampered Chef stoneware baking dish, maybe that's why I didn't have any problems with the syrup getting hard after it cooled. I hate to say it, but I like this recipe better than my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was wonderful. I added more egg mixture to it to 'fill' my pan more so. You have to eat right away otherwise it gets stuck to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Horn Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Powdersville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is one of my husband's favorites!! He's not a big fan of sweets but asks for this often. I just finished putting it together for Christmas morning tomorrow(at his request). I use day old french bread from Jimmy Johns. I also use regular ol' pancake syrup instead of corn syrup since I always have that in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olivehurst, California, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was really good and the family loved it. I only deviated from the recipe because I had to; i.e. used half n half (out of milk) and 2T. maple syrup (out of corn syrup). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States