Overnight French Toast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Too many eggs!! Did not cook well enough and it was soggy because of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
I love to make this as the main dish at a small brunch of women. It is a hit and is even good without the blueberries(which I don't use if they are too expensive).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
Truly a tastebud delight - Great for company!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Before my changes a 3 star. After, a 5! Wow, you have to try this. I made it for Christmas morning and everyone loved it. I changed the following: I used day old sliced french baguette bread, I added 1/4 cup of sugar to the egg mix. I used 7 instead od 12 eggs. I also creamed the cream cheese, not leaving it as cubes. Try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I'm not sure what happened, but this didn't turn out at all. It wasn't sweet enough so I would recommend adding some sugar with the eggs. I would also recommend using french bread, or something much thicker to absorb the eggs. I would also use less eggs to avoid the dish coming out mushy. Lastly, I would cream some sugar and cheese so it comes out smooth and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I made a few changes to this recipe. I used a loaf of day old French bread, added sugar, cinnamon, and syrup to the egg mix. It really needs day old bread to absorb all the eggs, cook until the center is spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
We loved this!! i had fresh blueberries, but since it's cooked, i figure frozen would be just as good. i also used old sourdough bread and buttermilk - wow! thanks for this great breakfast. i am always looking for ways to use eggs and this recipe is great for sunday morning when i really don't want to cook. thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made a version of this for Christmas morning and everyone loved it! Ages 2 - 62. I am making this again for tomorrow morning, and I am making a few alterations.... If you are making a 8 or 10 serving batch, I would cut the eggs to 10. The first time I made this, I noticed that it was a little soupy when I took it out of the frig, so I drained about 2 eggs worth (it still came out wonderful!). The first time, I used blueberries. After I sprinkled the cream cheese and blueberries over the first layer, I sprinkled sugar over everything. This time I am using frozen strawberries (which have sugar added), so I didn't add sugar. I added about 2 tablespoons of cinnamon and 2 tablespoons of vanilla to the egg and milk wash before I poured it. Keep maple syrup handy for those pancake lovers or there is a recipe for blueberry syrup on one of the other french toast recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmbrennan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I had this yesterday at my Bible Studay and was so hoping I could find the recipe online! Was so excited to see it here. This is exactly what the lady was descriving was in hers. A lot of people seem to think it tasted bland. I can agree that it would be...but the lady who brought it also had a blueberry sauce to pour over the top. That was soooo delicious and I bet that would add the sweetness/flavor that a lot of you think is missing. The lady also said she only used 1 brick of cream cheese. I can't wait to make this for my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I will use one package of cream cheese next time and cut it into smaller pieces but otherwise DELICIOUS! Everyone in my family loved it (from ages 8 to 70) and it was easy to put to together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States