Overnight Eggnog French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was an easy recipe to prepare. I used Texas Toast bread slices. I used 10 slices this time but will probably reduce to 8 slices next time. I cut the bread into large cubes. I did also add extra cinnamon (1/4 tsp) and nutmeg (1/8 tsp) as I usually add more to the eggnog I buy at the store. I liked being able to prep the night before and bake in the morning. I was worried about the cooking time and did leave it in about 15 minutes longer. Next time I will take it out closer to the recommended time though as it does continue to cook after removing from oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is the best french toast recipe! I served it t a family brunch and people could not get enough! May try using egg whites next time to lower the cholesterol but certainly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this according to instructions, took it out of the oven after 35 mins and it wasn't even close to being done. I set the oven to 350° and put it in for another 35 mins. I put it back in to brown @375° and after 7 mins it still wasn't browned. It was still a loose when we decided to eat it. Tasted okay but the crust on the bread was really tough. If I ever make this again I'll use Texas toast but I doubt I'll ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delicious and definitely a keeper recipe. I made this as part of the All Star Ambassador Program. So glad I tried it. I couldn't find eggnog so I used the heavy cream and spices, but went a little heavier on the spices. I also substituted 1 T of maple syrup and 1 T of honey in place of the 2 T of corn syrup. I think that worked just fine. Baked it a bit longer than was recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I used a slightly bigger pan. Added more two day old french bread and a bit more eggnog. As other reviewers stated they added additional spices, I did as well. I cooked it for 40 minutes then removed the aluminum foil for 7 minutes. Superb! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
LOVE this recipe! Would give this 10 stars if I could. Huge hit with the kids. I loved the flavor and the ease of the recipe. I did not have any issues with the bread being soggy. Would not change a thing and I have already made it 3 times. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Was looking for a "sure-hit" recipe for christmas brunch and was initially worried that this only had 8 reviews but SO glad that I took the risk-easy and delish ! I will make this every Christmas! Husband who hates mushy french toast LOVED it and everyone wanted recipe! No syrup needed but a squirt of Reddi Whip and a sprinkle of fresh blueberries or strawberries makes this HEAVENLY! I prepared as written with a few minor adjustments: a did prepare night before & sprinkled a little cinnamon on top, I also turned to broil for last 2 minutes of cooking to get a good brown on it and I lightly sprinkled with powered sugar after I took it out to make it look pretty! A must do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Delicious! Made it exactly as suggested for Christmas morning. Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was the best over night french toast brunch dish I have made. Made it for a company Christmas brunch and it was requested by many. I made it exactly as the recipe states, except I baked it 40 minutes at 325 degrees, increased the temp to 375 degrees and left it in for about 10-12 minutes longer. I made sure the oven temperature reached 375 before I started to time it with the foil off. Perfect! I sprinkled with powder sugar, but served with maple syrup for those that wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is a very, VERY good recipe, but I did make some changes. Due to being gluten-free (no flour), I used 2 loaves of "Three Baker's" gluten-free bread. I know it seems a lot of bread, but the loaves/slices of bread are fairley small, and I wanted to fill the glass pan. This recipe makes a GREAT Christmas Day brekfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States