Overnight Eggnog French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was an easy recipe to prepare. I used Texas Toast bread slices. I used 10 slices this time but will probably reduce to 8 slices next time. I cut the bread into large cubes. I did also add extra cinnamon (1/4 tsp) and nutmeg (1/8 tsp) as I usually add more to the eggnog I buy at the store. I liked being able to prep the night before and bake in the morning. I was worried about the cooking time and did leave it in about 15 minutes longer. Next time I will take it out closer to the recommended time though as it does continue to cook after removing from oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is the best french toast recipe! I served it t a family brunch and people could not get enough! May try using egg whites next time to lower the cholesterol but certainly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this according to instructions, took it out of the oven after 35 mins and it wasn't even close to being done. I set the oven to 350° and put it in for another 35 mins. I put it back in to brown @375° and after 7 mins it still wasn't browned. It was still a loose when we decided to eat it. Tasted okay but the crust on the bread was really tough. If I ever make this again I'll use Texas toast but I doubt I'll ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delicious and definitely a keeper recipe. I made this as part of the All Star Ambassador Program. So glad I tried it. I couldn't find eggnog so I used the heavy cream and spices, but went a little heavier on the spices. I also substituted 1 T of maple syrup and 1 T of honey in place of the 2 T of corn syrup. I think that worked just fine. Baked it a bit longer than was recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
LOVE this recipe! Would give this 10 stars if I could. Huge hit with the kids. I loved the flavor and the ease of the recipe. I did not have any issues with the bread being soggy. Would not change a thing and I have already made it 3 times. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Was looking for a "sure-hit" recipe for christmas brunch and was initially worried that this only had 8 reviews but SO glad that I took the risk-easy and delish ! I will make this every Christmas! Husband who hates mushy french toast LOVED it and everyone wanted recipe! No syrup needed but a squirt of Reddi Whip and a sprinkle of fresh blueberries or strawberries makes this HEAVENLY! I prepared as written with a few minor adjustments: a did prepare night before & sprinkled a little cinnamon on top, I also turned to broil for last 2 minutes of cooking to get a good brown on it and I lightly sprinkled with powered sugar after I took it out to make it look pretty! A must do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I used a slightly bigger pan. Added more two day old french bread and a bit more eggnog. As other reviewers stated they added additional spices, I did as well. I cooked it for 40 minutes then removed the aluminum foil for 7 minutes. Superb! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Delicious! Made it exactly as suggested for Christmas morning. Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was the best over night french toast brunch dish I have made. Made it for a company Christmas brunch and it was requested by many. I made it exactly as the recipe states, except I baked it 40 minutes at 325 degrees, increased the temp to 375 degrees and left it in for about 10-12 minutes longer. I made sure the oven temperature reached 375 before I started to time it with the foil off. Perfect! I sprinkled with powder sugar, but served with maple syrup for those that wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is a very, VERY good recipe, but I did make some changes. Due to being gluten-free (no flour), I used 2 loaves of "Three Baker's" gluten-free bread. I know it seems a lot of bread, but the loaves/slices of bread are fairley small, and I wanted to fill the glass pan. This recipe makes a GREAT Christmas Day brekfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States