Overnight Eggnog French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was an easy recipe to prepare. I used Texas Toast bread slices. I used 10 slices this time but will probably reduce to 8 slices next time. I cut the bread into large cubes. I did also add extra cinnamon (1/4 tsp) and nutmeg (1/8 tsp) as I usually add more to the eggnog I buy at the store. I liked being able to prep the night before and bake in the morning. I was worried about the cooking time and did leave it in about 15 minutes longer. Next time I will take it out closer to the recommended time though as it does continue to cook after removing from oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I used a slightly bigger pan. Added more two day old french bread and a bit more eggnog. As other reviewers stated they added additional spices, I did as well. I cooked it for 40 minutes then removed the aluminum foil for 7 minutes. Superb! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Rave reviews at my holiday brunch. Added nutmeg and triple sec to the eggnog mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joelleberanek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemont, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was amazing. I would advise not to put too much syrup to avoid it being to sweet. Will make this again for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Delicious! Made it exactly as suggested for Christmas morning. Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this for Christmas morning. Everybody loved it! Thanks for sharing. I did everything according to the recipe, except kept it in the oven until it was puffy and golden brown (about 1 hour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I made this for a staff brunch potluck and it was a hit! I cooked it for about 40 minutes under foil and then about 7 minutes without the foil and without increasing the heat (I didn't read the directions closely enough!) which wasn't enough. I bumped up the heat and cooked it for another 7 minutes or so and called it good. It was delicious the morning it was baked and I would definitely make it again... and again... and again. However, we did not feel it was as tasty as leftovers. YUMMY when fresh, though! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Family really liked this one. I probably won't use all the recommended eggs next time. Great Christmas morning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delicious and definitely a keeper recipe. I made this as part of the All Star Ambassador Program. So glad I tried it. I couldn't find eggnog so I used the heavy cream and spices, but went a little heavier on the spices. I also substituted 1 T of maple syrup and 1 T of honey in place of the 2 T of corn syrup. I think that worked just fine. Baked it a bit longer than was recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made this recipe for my Christmas Breakfast it was AMAZING!!!!!! My family truly loved it. The only thing I changed was I used a loaf of Potato bread but followed the directions and came out perfect....Super moist and sweet I garnished with fresh berries and whip cream....mmmmm Delicious. This will be added to my holiday breakfast menu. Very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States