Overnight Eggnog French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is a very, VERY good recipe, but I did make some changes. Due to being gluten-free (no flour), I used 2 loaves of "Three Baker's" gluten-free bread. I know it seems a lot of bread, but the loaves/slices of bread are fairley small, and I wanted to fill the glass pan. This recipe makes a GREAT Christmas Day brekfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
HUGE hit! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this recipe for New Year's Day breakfast and everyone loved it! I did make a few changes. I used 8 slices of Texas toast instead of the french bread (as another reviewer had suggested) and I sprinkled cinnamon over the bread before pouring the egg and eggnog mixture on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I liked the carmelization of the sugar on the bottom but overall this was too sweet. We put unsweetened applesauce on top which helped cut the sweetness a lot. I used 6 dinner-sized challah rolls split in half for the bread which worked out nicely. I'm glad I tried this but unlikely I'd make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I thought the taste was right on.. good eggnog flavour. A whole loaf of bread was too much bread and the mixture didn't soak through it all. I would toss the bread strips in the mixture in a big bowl and then dump it all in the pan. The butter/sugar mixture was delicious but would have liked more of it. A good recipe and especially good for a quick easy breakfast but I don't think I'll make this again. My family liked it though so 4 stars for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Was looking for a "sure-hit" recipe for christmas brunch and was initially worried that this only had 8 reviews but SO glad that I took the risk-easy and delish ! I will make this every Christmas! Husband who hates mushy french toast LOVED it and everyone wanted recipe! No syrup needed but a squirt of Reddi Whip and a sprinkle of fresh blueberries or strawberries makes this HEAVENLY! I prepared as written with a few minor adjustments: a did prepare night before & sprinkled a little cinnamon on top, I also turned to broil for last 2 minutes of cooking to get a good brown on it and I lightly sprinkled with powered sugar after I took it out to make it look pretty! A must do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was delicious! Used fat free prepared egg-nog, and soaked the bread for only 2 hours but it was fantastic and a hit with all our brunch guests. Can only imagine how great it would be if it had soaked overnight. Multiplied the recipe by 1.5, but doubled the yummy sauce. Baked covered for one hour in an 11*14 pan, and then browned. Will definitely make again! Mmmmmmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was amazing. I would advise not to put too much syrup to avoid it being to sweet. Will make this again for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made this recipe for my Christmas Breakfast it was AMAZING!!!!!! My family truly loved it. The only thing I changed was I used a loaf of Potato bread but followed the directions and came out perfect....Super moist and sweet I garnished with fresh berries and whip cream....mmmmm Delicious. This will be added to my holiday breakfast menu. Very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Family really liked this one. I probably won't use all the recommended eggs next time. Great Christmas morning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States