Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was really good and easy to make. Followed recipe exactly with only one change. I used whole wheat floor instead of white flour. Liked making it the night before and just having to get up and put in the oven the next morning. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Very good! Mine was baked-up within 30-35 minutes. If you desire a simple glaze, here's my personal favorite: 2 Tbl. softened butter, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, 3/4 cup 10X, and milk (to desired consistency). COOL CAKE SLIGHTLY before you spread the glaze on, or it melts too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
pretty good; very moist; not the best. i added peeled apples to the batter, which helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was very good! Needs more topping though. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This is amazing. Beyond amazingly good, actually. I can't imagine what some of the reviewers did to make this cake not moist. Maybe, it's me and my changes, and not this recipe alone, haha, but what I made from this recipe was delicious. Now, I did make some changes (tip: never make something "to the T" of a recipe, and always, always taste and make changes). I basically doubled the batch since I was putting it in a bunt pan. I used real butter, no nuts and 2% milk instead of buttermilk (maybe this helped make it less dense?) and I didn't measure the cinnamon. I did not let it sit over night either since I wanted to bake it immediately. On top of that, I made a more crumbly sort of topping by adding a tablespoon of flour and melted butter mixed with the the brown sugar/cinnamon mix to put on top. A great starter recipe. Very moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This just didn't work out for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I've been making this one for over a year now and love how easy it is to make ahead of time! I can bake it when I get up and it's still piping hot by the time my coworkers get it. And they LOVE warm treats. :D Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This had a great taste but it wouldn't stay together. The cake just crumbled apart so whenever we wanted a piece it just fell apart. I am not sure if I did something wrong, but I followed all of the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I did not wait overnight for this recipe and it came out great, it took about five minutes less time to bake than suggested. My husband was wild over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjendiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Not bad, but will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States