Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was very good. I didn't cook it for 40 minutes as it was done at 25 minutes. Loved the crunchy crumb topping, the smaller nut pieces was just right for it. Thought it was very moist, even after leaving it uncovered for half the day. Being able to mix this up the day before and have it warm in the morning was why I decided to make this and I wasn't disappoined with the results. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This cake has the potential to be really great! I made a few changes according to what I had on hand and healthier substitute. I doubled the recipe and baked in a loaf pan. Then instead of doubling the butter, I added 1/3 cup of unsweetened apple sauce. Substituted 2cups of all purpose for 1 cup all purpose, and 1 cup whole wheat, and changed buttermilk to 200 grams vanilla yoghurt, and added 1 tsp of miracle whip. I also changed the walnuts to almonds and hazelnuts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This was very tasty, but I accidently used cake flour instead of all purpose and it was extremely light and fluffy which was very different. I'm sure it will be even better with all purpose flour. So wonderful to be able to prepare the night before then just pop in the oven in the morning. I think that next time I will make a layer of topping in the middle of the cake as well. Do not hesitate to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I had to substitute plain yogurt for the buttermilk and it was still the best coffee cake I have ever tasted. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This cake was perfect for breakfast - not too sweet. I can see why some people are doubling the recipe - the amount of batter produced from following the recipe below was barely enough for a 8x8 pan so the cake was pretty thin. We didn't mind though. The cake was in the oven roughly 40 minutes but I should have taken it out around 30-35. I omitted the nuts altogether because my husband doesn't like them. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Excellent! I did not let it sit overnight, just baked it when done putting it together and it was fabulous! I did add a layer of the topping in the middle of the batter, then piled the rest on top. Served it to company and everyone loved it! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Excellent receipe. Very moist and good flavor. Great for Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
YUM! I added half again as much brown sugar topping - OH it was great. Just like the coffee shop cake I get sometimes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIFFER2525

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this with gluten-free all-purpose flour and it still turned out great! Very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I made this for my office and they loved it. I didn't use the streusel in this recipe. I made my own with butter, flour, and sugar. The struesel in the recipe would dry out the cake. I also didn't bake it as long and I doubled the recipe. It was easy to make and very popular. I'll make it next again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States