Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I added 1/2 cup sour cream, another egg, and 1 1/2 cups of raw apple slices. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Wonderful! I also doubled this recipe and baked it in a 9x13 pan. When the cake was done I sprinkled the top with a little extra crumb topping (1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup flour). Everyone kept raving about how moist it was! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This was a great recipe! It seemed strange to make it the night before, but it works. It didn't seem to make very much so I doubled the recipe. It needed about 10 extra minutes to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
One of the best coffee cakes I've tried! I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 inch pan. It came out really moist. I glazed it with a mixture of 1 cup of confectioner's sugar and 2 Tbsp. of milk. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I don't usually rave about cakes much not really a sweet eater, but this cake was goooooooood. It makes your house smell so homey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
This was really tasty and easy to make because I could mix it up the night before. It was a little confusing to my 8 year old, though because step one has you pour the batter into a pan and then step three has you prepare the pan ("how do you prepare the pan once the batter is in it, mom?") I didn't follow the rest exactly as written, either: I subbed in half fresh-ground whole wheat pastry flour to make it a little healthier, used pecans instead of walnuts because we don't like walnuts much and used soured goat's milk instead of buttermilk because that's what we had. The texture is moist and light, the flavor cinnamon-y and the topping crunchy and sweet. We'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I feel like I wasted my ingredients. I feel that there was too much butter. Finely grinding the walnuts was a mistake, they need to be chopped, the topping felt (on the pallet) almost like grit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Dang this was good! I substituted wheat flour and it had a rather "nutty" texture. Nummy! Yeah, I was a skeptic, too. But this didn't last a whole day in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Photo by alyacroft
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This coffee cake is amazing! It's nice because I can make it the night before and then just get up and put it in the oven. I made 2 changes -- 1) I had no buttermilk, so I soured my own milk with 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice and then however much milk makes 1/2 cup of the milk/lemon juice solution. 2) I wanted to make the topping a bit richer, so I added chocolate chips and almond slivers to the cinnamon and brown sugar mixture. I put half of the batter in the pan, sprinkled just cinnamon and brown sugar over the top, then put the rest of the batter in the pan and covered the rest of the batter with the cinnamon/brown sugar/almond/chocolate chip mixture. It turned out wonderfully! My husband was so happy when he saw it coming out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyacroft

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
really good wish it was a more moist. definatly will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States