Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe. Easy to make and tastes absolutely wonderful. My family loves this cake. I don't buy buttermilk, but found a way to make a buttermilk substitute with regular/fresh milk(I usually use 2%). For one cup of milk, use one Tablespoon of vinegar, I use apple cider vinegar. Let it sit for five minutes before adding it to the recipe. Thank you, Amy for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
yummy yum yum! This is the best coffee cake I've ever made or eaten! I do not know what the people who said it wasn't moist are talking about, because it was the best! I baked it in the morning for breakfast, and even my mum who doesn't like cakes said it was good. I did not have any buttermilk so I used plain milk, which turned out fine. It was not too sweet, thank goodness, and the topping was great. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thank you soooooooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This is a good make-ahead recipe. Don't overbake. I also bake it right away, for 30 minutes. Can't see how you would get a thin batter - I use 4 1/2 ounces for the one cup of flour. I also have added sliced or chopped peeled apple to the topping, works well. We like it with whipped cream, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I originally tried this recipe in 2004 and recently re-made it for Mother's Day 2007 morning. My mother-in-law, Dee, loved it and requested a copy of the recipe. The only 'tweak' I did was to add about half a cup of raisins. My husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I added 1/2 cup sour cream, another egg, and 1 1/2 cups of raw apple slices. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Batter was better than the final product. Perhaps I missed something along the way... but it went into the fridge with HIGH HOPES and came out of the oven with out rising much and had a bland taste. Won't try this one agian...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Segundo, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
really good wish it was a more moist. definatly will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Mine turned out a little dry and the texture was a little "tough" feeling. Very good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was a fairly average coffecake. It was good. We both enjoyed it but I wouldn't write home about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This recipe is wonderful!! I didn't have any buttermilk so I used sour cream instead. Also I used pralines instead of plain walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States