Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I made this for my office and they loved it. I didn't use the streusel in this recipe. I made my own with butter, flour, and sugar. The struesel in the recipe would dry out the cake. I also didn't bake it as long and I doubled the recipe. It was easy to make and very popular. I'll make it next again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Overall, it was quite good. Very moist. I would like a different topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Very tasty - the only change I made was to use pecans instead of walnuts (just personal preference). My only issue was that it stuck to the pan and I greased it very well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I thought that there would be a lot more cake batter than there actually was. The batter hardly covered the bottom of my pan. However the cake as really good and moist. Next time I make it I'll be sure to double the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
did not enjoy this recipe. The texture was too spongy for what I was hoping for and the taste was a little bland. I did take the reviewers advice on adding sour cream, which I can't deny, the cake is moist...just not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris36

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
loved this..so easy! 35 mins was a bit overcooked in my oven so I will check it around 30 next time. I added a heaping teaspoon of vanilla too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
As suggested by many, I doubled the recipe using a 9"X13" pan. Instead of buttermilk, I used plain yogurt and I slightly reduced the amount of baking soda in this double portion. It only took me 30min to bake, but i purposely left it in the oven a little longer to further brown the topping which I shouldn't have. It over dried the edges. However, the cake in general is still very moist and a crowd pleaser. The fact that it could be prepared overnight is a big time saver in the morning when you get out of bed late, but still want a fresh bake over coffee. Next time, I will put in 1tsp of vanilla essence to further enrich the taste. Great recipe, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLee3268

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was a decent recipe. The cake was moist and the recipe was easy but the end product lacked a certain flair. I'll make it again but probably not often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was pretty good, but seemed to be missing something. I doubled recipe for a 9x13 and used sour cream instead of buttermilk. I came out very moist but needed to be just a little sweeter. May try adding some vanilla next time or increase the brown sugar. I did love how it can be made the night before. That alone makes it a very usable recipe just needs to be tweeked just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is a good recipe. I have it but instead of using buttermilk, I use sour cream. For me it is a time savor because when I get up in the morning and take it out of the frige and start getting ready for work. I then go put it in the oven and by time my kids get up for school it is ready for them to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi-H.
Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States