Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I made this for my office and they loved it. I didn't use the streusel in this recipe. I made my own with butter, flour, and sugar. The struesel in the recipe would dry out the cake. I also didn't bake it as long and I doubled the recipe. It was easy to make and very popular. I'll make it next again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Overall, it was quite good. Very moist. I would like a different topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Very tasty - the only change I made was to use pecans instead of walnuts (just personal preference). My only issue was that it stuck to the pan and I greased it very well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I thought that there would be a lot more cake batter than there actually was. The batter hardly covered the bottom of my pan. However the cake as really good and moist. Next time I make it I'll be sure to double the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
did not enjoy this recipe. The texture was too spongy for what I was hoping for and the taste was a little bland. I did take the reviewers advice on adding sour cream, which I can't deny, the cake is moist...just not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris36

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
loved this..so easy! 35 mins was a bit overcooked in my oven so I will check it around 30 next time. I added a heaping teaspoon of vanilla too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
As suggested by many, I doubled the recipe using a 9"X13" pan. Instead of buttermilk, I used plain yogurt and I slightly reduced the amount of baking soda in this double portion. It only took me 30min to bake, but i purposely left it in the oven a little longer to further brown the topping which I shouldn't have. It over dried the edges. However, the cake in general is still very moist and a crowd pleaser. The fact that it could be prepared overnight is a big time saver in the morning when you get out of bed late, but still want a fresh bake over coffee. Next time, I will put in 1tsp of vanilla essence to further enrich the taste. Great recipe, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLee3268

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was a decent recipe. The cake was moist and the recipe was easy but the end product lacked a certain flair. I'll make it again but probably not often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was pretty good, but seemed to be missing something. I doubled recipe for a 9x13 and used sour cream instead of buttermilk. I came out very moist but needed to be just a little sweeter. May try adding some vanilla next time or increase the brown sugar. I did love how it can be made the night before. That alone makes it a very usable recipe just needs to be tweeked just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is a good recipe. I have it but instead of using buttermilk, I use sour cream. For me it is a time savor because when I get up in the morning and take it out of the frige and start getting ready for work. I then go put it in the oven and by time my kids get up for school it is ready for them to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi-H.
Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States