Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by WeezaG
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I decided, after midnight, to get this ready for the morning. I'm so glad I did. This cake was moist, unlike many coffee cakes. The cinnamon flavor was subtle, but enough, I think. I made one substitution - I used plain fat-free yogurt instead of buttermilk, because that's what I had on hand. I mixed it by hand rather than in my KA. I baked it in an 8" square Pyrex pan and it was done in 40 minutes. I think that you could do other things with this coffee cake, more spice (nutmeg...mmm), vanilla, etc., but there is no need. It's that good and it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alyacroft
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This coffee cake is amazing! It's nice because I can make it the night before and then just get up and put it in the oven. I made 2 changes -- 1) I had no buttermilk, so I soured my own milk with 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice and then however much milk makes 1/2 cup of the milk/lemon juice solution. 2) I wanted to make the topping a bit richer, so I added chocolate chips and almond slivers to the cinnamon and brown sugar mixture. I put half of the batter in the pan, sprinkled just cinnamon and brown sugar over the top, then put the rest of the batter in the pan and covered the rest of the batter with the cinnamon/brown sugar/almond/chocolate chip mixture. It turned out wonderfully! My husband was so happy when he saw it coming out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyacroft

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My book club loved this! What better in the morning than a coffee cake, coffee, and good books! I used pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I so wish I could give this more stars, because it has great flavor and the topping is scrumptious. It's not moist enough though. I followed the instructions to a "T" when making it but it definitely didn't turn out to be very moist. Very disappointing in that regard. Not sure how other reviewers were able to get such a moist result. I use an oven thermometer, so I know the baking temp was correct. The only thing I can think of is that maybe I should have left tin foil on it while it baked (the recipe didn't say whether to remove the cover or not when baking it; I took it off because that's how I normally bake cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was very tasty and it was very nice to just pop it in the oven in the morning. It did not say whether or not to uncover before baking, I did. Also, I have an oven that runs on the hot side. Adjusted it accordingly but it still was done in only 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsymonds

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was sooo GOOD! I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan. Everyone enjoyed will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Love this one for so many reasons. First, you make the night before, which is such a time saver in the morning. Second, it is easy to put together with ingredients that are usually on hand. Third, it baked perfectly in the time noted and turned out so moist with delicious flavors. I made a little vanilla glaze for the top, but this would have been great without it. Everyone kept making the comment that they loved it and wished I made a bigger pan of it - next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wonderful recipe, this is great when you have a busy house full of guests and want something simple and delicious for breakfast. I make it with whole wheat flour just so I feel as though it has something fiber-full in it besides the nuts. Terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Perfect for early morning meetings when it can mixed the evening before! Put it in the oven to cook while getting ready for work! Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. Very moist and delicious. Next time, I may add an icing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
LOVE LOVE LOVE. This was so great for a playdate I had at my house. I made it the night before and cleaned it up the night before so all I had to do that morning was pop it in the oven. No mess to fret over! Plan on making this for women's bible study! I let it sit on the counter for 30 minutes before I stuck it in the oven ONLY because it was in a glass 9x13 (doubled the recipe to 24 servings) and worried about sticking cold glass into hot oven. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States