Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Have made this many times and it always turns out great. The whole family loves it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is a family favorite! i substituted the flour for gluten free flour and its still a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Living In: Wildomar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was delicious! I replaced the nutmeg with cinnamon & left out the nuts & did everything else as listed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
What a great coffee cake recipe! It was easy to put together, the cake was very moist & the crumb topping was crunchy & sooo good! I added 1 teaspoon vanilla extract to the cake batter and about 4 Tablespoons of cold butter to the crumb topping. Assembled the cake and left it in the fridge overnight. Baked the next morning & it was absolutely amazing! This is my new favorite recipe, thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wellington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is incredible! I get compliments every time, but here is what I do different: I add a touch of milk to the recipe and I do a crumb topping that includes butter for the top... I also have baked in within a couple of hours instead of letting it sit overnight and it still turns out moist and delicious! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was fantastic, way better than I expected. I made it exactly as the recipe was written, except that I used freshly ground nutmeg so I'm not entirely sure exactly how much of that I ended up with. I was very leery of the topping - brown sugar, nuts and cinnamon, really? I usually do a streusel topping. DON'T change it, give it a try, it's really way better than you'd expect. I'm not sure what the whole overnight refrigeration thing did for it, but it made Sunday morning breakfast a little easier. Great recipe, thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I guess I'll give this one of my rare five-star ratings. I'm not particularly fond of coffee cake - I rarely have it, but I'll eat it. I made this exactly as written, except that I had to lengthen the baking time to 45 minutes because the "toothpick test" failed as 35 and 40 minutes. I don't know what the standard is for coffee cake, but this tasted great. Better yet, I ate the whole thing myself, and leftovers, reheated in the microwave briefly, were almost as good as fresh, a week later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Perfect exactly as written. I had to use 2T of cinnamon instead of nutmeg, and more cinnamon in the topping. It was a wonderfully, fast breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Okay, don't go CRAZY trying to make this more moist because some people thought it was too dry. I added a 1/4 extra "sour cream" (I always use plain greek yogurt for sour cream, fine for baking), and about 1/4 apple sauce. I also substituted 1 and 1/2 cup powdered sugar for regular sugar because I just didn't have sugar. Here's what happened: the weight of the applesauce dragged the dough down and the texture is off - it's dark and dense (but cooked) and didn't rise as well. It TASTES good, though I would recommend adding some vanilla to the batter. ABOUT THE DOUGH: the dough for me was getting quite stringy and sticky when mixing, like bread dough. I think it's supposed to be like that, but it panicked me. Don't panic! All in all - decent flavor (adding a banana or vanilla would improve it!), gorgeous rise to the cake, and the topping is okay. May have been helped with a more traditional strudel! Have some milk nearby, it's decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Delicious and easy. I followed the recipe with the following exceptions: 1. Subbed 2 cups flour for 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup unbleached white 2. Did about 2/3 tsp nutmeg and 1/3 tsp of cinnamon in the cake Love this recipe. Easy and everyone at my work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States