Overnight Coconut Pecan Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I didn't have unsweetened coconut, I used the regular sweetened I had on hand. I also used a packet of Truvia instead of brown sugar and lowfat milk. This was absolutely delicious. Very filling breakfast. Next time, I would double the coconut and pecans but that's really a personal preferance, not reflective of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Oh Yum! This is a great no-cook method that's so easy and delicious plus the "night before" prep makes this perfect for busy mornings when you want something healthy but don't have time! This not only tastes good, but is good for you too. I had regular coconut on hand and used 1% milk to lighten it up a bit. This is also great to use your favorite add-in's like a little nutmeg, raisins, dried cranberries or cherries. Thanks for a great recipe Linda (LMT)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Great flavor combination! Made exactly as written - just felt that I was eating raw oats the whole time, which wasn't horrible, just very chewy. I think our family would prefer it cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This was delicious. Looking forward to eating it all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Love that this is "no cook", but I do warm it up the next morning. Didn't have coconut and went with raw organic honey for sweetness. Can't wait to add other healthy goodies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Wonderful flavor, but not with steel cut oats. I soaked them for two days and they were still hard and very chewy, but not in a good way.I put the whole thing in a pot on the stove, added some water, and cooked it for 20 minutes. It still wasn't cooked thoroughly. Old fashioned oats would be fantastic though. I look forward to trying it that way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I liked this for a change and will surely make it again. It was an oddly chewy texture, more than I expected. The flavor was good and it was definitely filling. I haven't had soaked steel cut oats before so I would think the texture is something that grows on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this exactly as written, and felt it to be 3 stars... Heat it for 1 minute in the microwave and it becomes 4 stars! Super easy, and makes the perfect amount. I will be making this again and trying different ingredients too - raisins would be a great addition. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
YUM! I didn't have unsweetened coconut, but it was great, very adaptable and great nutritious breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Basically this is a version of a European dish call Muesli (Swiss). I almost doubled the recipe but didn't need to. I am a big guy at 6'2" and even though it does not look like a big serving it is hearty. I think next time I will serve it over some sliced Banana , raisins or other ripe fruit. I used some half and half on top too. Lots of ways to have fun and tweak the recipe to your liking. If you feel this is too firm for your pallet, just cook the oats a little before you put it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N5232P
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States