Overnight Cinnamon Rolls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is a really good recipe. Previously, whenever i have made Cinnamon rolls the dough had a dense texture, these were lighter and fluffier different (in a great way). The filling left a little to be desired. Next time i think i will use the filling from a different recipe. In addition, this time i went with a cream cheese icing as i like cream cheese icing the best. In preparing the dough, I would recommend using a candy thermometer to measure the temperature of the milk and butter mixture prior to adding the yeast. It should be within a (110 to 120 degree Fahrenheit). This recipe doesn't specifically state it, but I allowed the yeast to get frothy and activate prior to adding the flour and kneading. Another tip that i have recently learned. Is that kneading is very important, and should take the recommended amount of time, and usually absorbs more than the recommended amount of flour. For cutting the rolls, the Dental floss trick is amazing. There are a few good tutorials on Youtube that explain it well, if you are wondering. My final tip is to keep an eye on them while they are baking. I took a peek 20 minutes in, and they were a good golden brown color. If i went with the recommended time, i am sure that i would've burned them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Make these every Christmas morning and for birthdays. Such a big hit and they're SOO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Fielden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
THE best cinnamon rolls I have ever made. Used a full box of vanilla pudding mix as others had suggested, and made just a bit more icing. They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Nice to do all the work the night before. Did the recipe exactly as is but made them dairy free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rikjog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Turns out every time. Love it! I use cream cheese, vanilla and powdered sugar for the frosting. I like it better, not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
meh, I've had better. I think I will stick to my recipe. I would suggest to REDUCE the temperature to 350. 375 is too high. 350 @ 30mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
My family and I Didn't Like these. The Cinnamon Roll it Self Was Too much Like a Biscuit, and Just was not appetizing to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Tedore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I really loved these cinnamon rolls, but I'm rating it 3 stars because I had to do some tweaking. I ended up using around 6.5 cups of flour to actually make the dough. 4.5 cups made a soupy mess. The finished product was a perfect texture and consistency. The color (because of the eggs) is beautiful! I also used a cream cheese frosting instead of a glaze. Doing this made them taste like Cinnabon. I bake bread for a living, so I'm not just blowing smoke here. :) Oh, and I've made these 4 times now and never gotten fewer than 16 rolls out of them. My kids want me to make them every night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Clingan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Like many others, I had trouble getting these to rise. I proofed the yeast 10 minutes in the milk mixture, but it didn't 'bloom' very well, and I threw it out and started over, but had the same issue. I've never had a problem proofing yeast, and I figured maybe it just looked different in milk as I've only proofed it in water before. I went ahead and continued the recipe, and had to add over a 1/2 cup of flour in order to work with the dough. It hardly rose in the greased bowl, but I continued on. I brushed the rolled out dough with 1 tbsp of butter total, doubled the brown sugar, added nutmeg to the filling, and took away the raisins. I cut 24 smaller rolls out of the batch - as we don't like giant rolls - and froze them immediately. When I prepared them, I let a few thaw in the fridge overnight, first spraying them with PAM and covering them with plastic wrap. They didn't rise much in the fridge, so I followed another reviewer's advice on this and covered them with a damp cloth and let them sit in my oven at 170F for about 20 minutes. They looked good at that point, so I baked them at 350 and pulled them out after about 10 min as they were more than done. They were about Pillsbury cinnamon roll size when complete. I made a cream cheese frosting which I loved, but my husband said he'd prefer the traditional glaze made from powdered sugar and water. They had nice flavor, but could be moister. I'll follow the tip of putting a small pat of butter on them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Did not work for my family at all. The dough never rose. I also disliked the taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States