Overnight Chinese Daikon Radish Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Very bland. I added red pepper flakes, pepper and soy sauce which seemed to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I've never had Daikon Radish before so I bought some to try this recipe. It was good but you do have to acquire a taste for Daikon radishes. I'm glad I tried this but don't think I would make again for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Very easy to make. I did not notice the odor that some reviewers reported. Made a good-textured pickle, but I'm afraid Daikon radish is an acquired taste. Ours came in a CSA box and was the first one I'd ever tried. I and my family, though we generally like spicy dishes, just didn't care for the spicy radish tang. We gamely munched on the pickles for a couple of days just so they wouldn't go to waste but I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These are insanely good! I made them on Friday and by Sunday night, when there were only two left, they reached perfection. I cut them into flower shapes with a vegetable cutter and at the end added some pickled ginger, which was super good. Also I added some furikake. This recipe has infinite possibilities, but the pretty shapes you can make with a daikon, and the final delicate flavor are probably the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These turned out bland and not tasting very pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
First, the smell is overpowering as it marinates. You want to believe it will taste better than it smells, but it just doesn't. I would rather shred my daikon and make the pan fried daikon cakes from this site than endure the smell and bad taste of these "pickles".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIGOLD1199

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
These had a nice crunch. Not much taste, so the sesame oil was key. The ones I have had at Japanese restaurants were red/yellow so I wonder what they added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Simple and easy. I did not add sesame oil but will next time to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the pickles came out quite vinegary. I liked it, but my husband didn't. I'll probably dillute the pickling solution with water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
A nice way to work Daikon into a meal. Also makes a decent low cal topping for green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States