Overnight Chinese Daikon Radish Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Very bland. I added red pepper flakes, pepper and soy sauce which seemed to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I've never had Daikon Radish before so I bought some to try this recipe. It was good but you do have to acquire a taste for Daikon radishes. I'm glad I tried this but don't think I would make again for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Very easy to make. I did not notice the odor that some reviewers reported. Made a good-textured pickle, but I'm afraid Daikon radish is an acquired taste. Ours came in a CSA box and was the first one I'd ever tried. I and my family, though we generally like spicy dishes, just didn't care for the spicy radish tang. We gamely munched on the pickles for a couple of days just so they wouldn't go to waste but I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These are insanely good! I made them on Friday and by Sunday night, when there were only two left, they reached perfection. I cut them into flower shapes with a vegetable cutter and at the end added some pickled ginger, which was super good. Also I added some furikake. This recipe has infinite possibilities, but the pretty shapes you can make with a daikon, and the final delicate flavor are probably the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These turned out bland and not tasting very pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
First, the smell is overpowering as it marinates. You want to believe it will taste better than it smells, but it just doesn't. I would rather shred my daikon and make the pan fried daikon cakes from this site than endure the smell and bad taste of these "pickles".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIGOLD1199

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
These had a nice crunch. Not much taste, so the sesame oil was key. The ones I have had at Japanese restaurants were red/yellow so I wonder what they added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Simple and easy. I did not add sesame oil but will next time to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the pickles came out quite vinegary. I liked it, but my husband didn't. I'll probably dillute the pickling solution with water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
A nice way to work Daikon into a meal. Also makes a decent low cal topping for green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States