Overnight Caramel Pecan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This recipe is great. Its a wonderful basic cinnamon roll recipe. I make the dough in my bread machine, which simplifies things a ton. I double the amount of cinnamon and sugar filling, and instead of making the caramel sauce, I make a cream cheese frosting. I tried the caramel once and it was just too much of a hassle, and its just as good with the cream cheese. Thanks so much for the recipe! Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astacy12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by staceywatts
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These are quite good but could be great with a couple changes. First double the caramel sauce. The rolls do not have enough caramel topping. Second double the butter in the filling, change the white sugar to brown and double it. Reduce the cinnamon in half so it doesn't overpower the caramel. The taste was good, the pecans crisp, the caramel flavor good. But with the stated changes these would be exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
actually only used the carmel part - but one of the best I've had. Not grainy or hard, just soft gooey goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
So good! I made this ahead of time, on a Friday evening using a log of purchased bread dough that I thawed. I prepped my rolled out dough as stated, spreading with softened butter, cinnamon and sugar, and cut into rolls. For the topping, I doubled the recipe. I put it together and let it sit in the fridge overnight, and on Saturday morning let it sit out for about 30 mins before baking. The result was deeelicious rolls, perfectly sticky. I've had problems in the past with caramel topping getting too hard or too grainy, but no problems with this topping--it turned out great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poofiemom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I saw a pic by a previous reviewer of the bundt pan version of this recipe and decided to do that for a large brunch I was having (mostly just to save time). I think there were 6 coffee cakes and this recipe were the first to go! As noted in a previous post, when you make it in a bundt pan, you can just throw in the topping at the bottom of the greased bundt pan, then roll little balls of dough in your hands (mine were mostly grape sized with a few golf ball sized) and then you don't have to roll out. It saves a lot of time and it looks very fancy. Note that when you make this recipe in a bundt pan it will increase the bake time by 20-30 minutes. I just looked at when the edges were getting just slightly brown and took it out then. The only one thing I would do differently next time is to roll the dough balls in a bit of sugar and cinnamon or easier yet- once you have your first layer of balls in the bundt pan, sprinkle the entire thing with sugar and cinnamon. The dough at the bottom was good, but it could have been tastier. I think that would give it some more color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I am not sure what I did wrong - but the dough did not turn out - it was like it was undercooked - or like it lacked yeast - but I put it in there. The flavor was there but the texture and consistency was all wrong. The preparation wasn't horrible - but when you spend time making any rolled out bread - you really want it to turn out! And the caramel nut combo tasted great but absolutely made a horrible mess of my pans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
The kids loved this! We served it with bacon and eggs for breakfast. Followed the recipe to a "T". Came out a bit dry. The caramel was hard, not runny and gooey like I expected. Overall, just a good, not excellent. Will probably look for another recipe, or try to make it come out less dry next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Falls, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
All I can say is OMGawsh! My friend came over last night and we made them together. She took home a pan and I kept one. Next time I'm not sharing. LOL We doubled the topping (except pecans) and chopped up the pecans instead of doing pecan halves. I let the bread machine do the mixing and we used dental floss to cut the rolls so it was really a pretty easy recipe. We'll be making this one again and again and again and...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Did everything as suggested in the recipe, but used walnuts instead of pecans, turned out just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very good. I made these with frozen bread dough to have for Easter morning. I didn't think they would fill the pan so I used cut up refrige. biscuits for the second pan, they wore excellent also. My father ask what bakery I got the buns from (bread dough ones) because he didn't think I could make something that tasted that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States