Overnight Caramel Pecan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This has been our Christmas morning breakfast for the past 5 or 6 years. We all look forward to the pecan rolls! I make the recipe as listed except I add a little of the sugar to the yeast and water so that it proofs better. It takes awhile to assemble these, but it is well worth the time and effort for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made these to have for breakfast on an overnight cottage trip with friends and they were a big hit. I did follow the recipe exactly, but next time I would make a few adjustments. There wasn't enough caramel sauce for our taste, so next time I will double the caramel and put a full recipe in each pan. As well, there wasn't quite enough sugar/cinnamon mixture for our taste, so I will increase this as well. Lastly, I rolled my dough out quite thin and as a result, I had to use more butter (close to a half a cup). All in all - a really nice recipe that I will make again with the modifications mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These turned out amazing! I think the only thing I will do differently is not refrigerate the dough overnight. I used spelt four instead of all purpose flour to make them healthier too. Overall the are fantastic and they turned out better than any other recipe I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I did double the amount of caramel ingredients. Made it for Christmas morning. AMAZING!!! Recipe made enough for a pan at home and to share with neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exchange, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivydale, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Tasty rolls, but not sure if they are worth the effort. There wasn't enough sauce for the two pans. If I make again, I will cut recipe in half to make one pan, but keep the sauce the same amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Great, but a lot of work. The main change I would recommend is to double the caramel and put a lot of pecans in. Using the original amounts, everyone agreed it needed more caramel & pecan. The bread ends up rising a lot, so the caramel to bread ratio is off. I'd also make it in a glass lasagna pan so as much of the bread touches the caramel as possible. I made another batch of caramel using 1/2 cup butter and 1.25 cups light brown sugar, so an extra 1/4 cup to balance out the butter. Another tip: DON'T BOIL THE CARAMEL. I boiled the caramel a bit before reading the tip that the caramel hardens if you boil it. Another tip: If you're too lazy to make the log and rolls, you can go with a monkey bread approach. Break the dough up into truffle-size balls, roll in a bowl of cinnamon & sugar, and add to glass lasagna pan. Another tip: I realize the caramel is buttery, but I'd add some melted butter over the bread, or in between the monkey bread balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Wonderful & easy. I doubled the topping as other suggested and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These are to DIE for! However, they should come with the warning to use a high sided baking tray - I used swiss roll tins and my caramel bubbled up over the sides, dripped onto the bottom of the oven and filled the kitchen with burnt sugar scented smoke. However, even that was not enough to stop us polishing off two of these babies each, hot out of the oven! I got 32 rolls out of the recipe, which is a nice big amount, enough to share with the neighbours. Definitely the best rolls I have come across - I would give them more stars if possible - thanks for the recipe ERIBERRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wickedwoman
Home Town: Wicklow, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Perpignan, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States