Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I've made this several times and it's always a HUGE hit. I've done the exact recipe and I've tried it with modifications. The biggest change I make is to only use one 8 oz. block of cream cheese otherwise it's too much. Everyone in my family and at the office loves this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is FABULOUS!! I made this for Christmas morning and it was gone in 10 minutes! Nice "casserole" to make instead of the usual egg casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This turned out pretty gross. Made it for brunch, and was embarrassed with the results. Was dry, but edible. A few differences probably would have made a world of difference: 1) more blueberries; 2) blending the cream cheese instead of just cutting big chunks; 3) adding more liquid as the french toast was cooking, kind of like a bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this for Mother's Day yesterday and it was delicious. I took the other reveiwers suggestions and did the following: Used Challah bread and cubed it. I doubled up on the blueberries. I also used 10oz of cream cheese with 1/4 cup powdered sugar and a splash of milk and mixed with a hand mixer so it spread better. And sprinkled each layer with fresh nutmeg and cinnamon. I was afraid to use the blueberry sauce but it isn't too sweet. It makes the dish complete. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I used thick-cut white bread (worked really well!) and a mix of half fresh and half frozen blueberries. It turned out really yummy! I also used the entire amount of cream cheese and double the amount of blueberries (both inside and on top, in the syrup). Next time I plan to mix/whip the powdered sugar into the cream cheese first, as others have suggested. The cheese was too cheesy, too savory, for a French toast dish. I did run into the problem of my dish not being fully cooked in the middle. Not sure what happened, as I put it in for an additional 10 minutes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I didn't really enjoy this recipe (the texture threw me off I think), but everyone at my house did (including a very picky boy) so I'm giving it four stars. First off the cook time is low; it took about an hour and a half to cook and I left it out for forty minutes beforehand. Next time I think I will use two loaves of French Bread instead of one. I followed the advice of others and added cinnamon to the bread and syrup. I do have to say that I loved the blueberry topping. I ended up using four cups of blueberries total, two for the bread and two for the topping. Also followed others advice and added a little bit of lemon juice, nutmeg, and cinnamon. All and all I'd be willing try it again with some changes. Its a bit of an experiment making it for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Double the sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I Also made this a second time, learning from the first. This wants to be a decadent dessert rather than a main dish. don't be afraid of sugar and DO NOT be afraid to add cinnamon. I also used Hawaiian bread the second time and I used the Blueberry Cream cheese spread and made "sandwiches" which I then cubed. I used 16 Oz of cream Cheese! and then I doubled the amount of fresh and frozen blueberries! I like to use both for tartness and for sweetness. I Used half and half in the egg mixture instead of milk ,and you definitely need to let it sit overnight. I then drizzled melted butter over it before baking and I sprinkled sugar over the top giving it a crispy crunchy bite against the soft gooey inside. In The syrup, I added double the fresh blueberries too. It came out fantastic!!!!!!! Everyone was Amazed at how delicious it was. I served it with fresh whipped cream. t was perfect. The blueberry cream cheese spread throughout was divine. it really helped to spread it onto the bread before cubing. I happened to have a few Blueberry muffins (the small ones) so I threw those crumbled up in there too. it truly was a decadent dessert! my Husband said it was the best dessert He'd ever eaten. And he's very fussy Oh and blend the cream and eggs in the blender so they're really fluffy, I also added some sugar , vanilla, and cinnamon to the egg mixture, it really made it much more flavorful than the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
We needed something for an office breakfast meeting of 20. Tried the Overnight Blueberry French Toast and OMG was it a huge hit. I made two dishes to be sure we had enough. Both dishes were wiped cleaned. I did not change anything in the recipe, just prepared it as instructed. The video sure was a great asset in knowing how to chop and when to mix ingredients. Thank you for sharing. Definitely will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States