Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I should have given this 5 stars, but the blueberries I purchased weren't sweet at all but real tart/sour. I think had the berries been better the recipe would have been great. The presentation was very appealing, and the flavor was great as long as you ate around the berries! So taste the berries before you start!!! I'll definitely try this again, when the berries are in season locally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Only used 8oz cream cheese and sliced it thin to cover the bread. This is great the next day cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This was very delicious!! I made the following changes based on reviews. I mixed 1/4 c powdered sugar into about 12 oz of cream cheese, I increased the blueberries to 2 cups. 12 slices of bread was not enough (even though it was oversized sheepherders), so I cubed up the rest of the loaf and toasted it in the oven. Well, I got distracted and they ended up a cross between stale cubes and croutons, but I used them anyway, and you could not tell! This was very good. HOWEVER, I think you need to be careful with the quantity of sugar. Our blueberries weren't very sweet, so if you ate the casserole w/o any syrup, it was perfect, as far as sweetness goes. However, if you poured on the very, very sweet blueberry syrup, it was too sweet for everyone except for the kids! Edible, but sweet. When I make it again, I will NOT add sugar to the cream cheese, and I will use just 8 oz. It was a whole lot of cream cheese in the middle....about the thickness of a thick layer of frosting in the middle of the cake. For our family, just a little too gooey/rich. Bottom line...my advice, follow the recipe as written except decrease the cream cheese to just one pkg., unless you want a thick layer of cheese. You may need to increase your bread cubes, and you may consider decreasing the sugar in the syrup, depending on how sweet the blueberries are....the syrup is excellent, but VERY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I didn't care for the chunks of cream cheese. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Yum! Whole family loved it. Used a loaf of cinnamon bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Turned out well, though a little soggy at the bottom. Might cut back on some of the milk or eggs next time. I used a brioche loaf of bread, which had a nice buttery flavor. I added more blueberries to the dish and doubled the sauce, though I don't think the extra sauce was necessary for the dish. Added about a tsp of cinnamon & nutmeg and a dash of cardamom to the egg mixture. Also added a tablespoon of lemon juice to the doubled syrup, and cut back on the sugar by 1/2 cup. Next time I will either cut the cream cheese up smaller or spread it out over the bread more -- it just stayed in big chunks instead of melting like I thought it would. Overall, though, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is a five star recipe if you add 1/4 cup powdered sugar to the cream cheese and sprinkle with cinnamon. Otherwise I made exactly as written. Just drop by teaspoonfuls on top of first bread layer. All French toast has cinnamon on it so that was a given for me. Used two small containers of blueberries. Put one cup on top of cheese. The rest (and I didn't even measure) I used in the syrup. 12 eggs. Real maple syrup. I pressed the top layer of bread down in the egg mixture so it all got covered. Baked in a convection oven at 350* for 30 minutes covered and 30 minutes uncovered. This timing came out perfect for my oven. Poured some of the syrup over the casserole while warm. Served the rest on the table for those who wanted more. Served with skinless smoked sausage for an awesome breakfast. This could be put together real fast in the evening if the bread was already cubed and the cream cheese mixed. I used about 16, 1/2" slices of store bakery French bread cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This was amazing I didn't use both of the cream cheese because I'm not a big cream cheese fan and doubled the blueberries. Everybody loved it especially the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Pleasantly surprised! I normally do not write when I alter the recipe as much as I did but I felt I could still offer a critique on one area of the recipe. the mixture of egg, vanilla and syrup was perfect. I also think 1 hour bake was too long, I took mine out early. I did not add cream cheese or the sauce on top because I am watching calories. But I am sure it tastes great. I also added cinnamon to top of bread and baked uncovered the whole time because I used very soft bread. I did appreciate having somewhere to start, thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I made a version of this with a few alterations for a group of family and friends. Winner! Of the many breakfast dishes i have tried for this group, this is the first one loved by everyone who tried it. I wanted this to be something we could "grab and go," so I decided to skip the sauce, and moved the sugar to the egg mixture. I added the grated zest of an orange, and sprinkled the second cup of blueberries on top as a final layer. It was plenty sweet (if not too sweet for my taste). No one could taste the maple syrup, but they liked the combo of orange and blueberries. No one minded the chunks of cream cheese. In fact, I thought they made a good contrast with the sweetness of the rest. Next time, I plan to omit the maple syrup and drizzle some melted butter over the top before baking. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orea de Sa'Hana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States