Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
YUM! I made this for Christmas morning for my inlaws. It turned out great. I did take a lot of the suggestions and modified this recipe. Here's what I did: Used Italian bread from the bakery (French bread seemed like too much crust). I also whipped 1 1/2 bricks cream cheese w/ 1/4 cup confectioners sugar and spread it over the cubed bread. I used frozen blueberries (thawed) and only 10 eggs. I also made sure to press the bread down so that everything got french toast consistancy. The syrup is delicious!! I made 1.5 times and poured 2/3 of it over the dish and the other 1/3 was put on the table for those who wanted a little bit more. Overall, this is a great recipe!! Will be sure to make at my next brunch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
890 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Delicious and beautiful, and perfect just as written. I used a good quality Italian bread, and chose to serve the blueberry sauce on the side. My out of town guests, both of whom are professional chefs, loved this so much they asked for the recipe. Gooey, creamy and crunchy all at the same time, depending on what forkful hits your mouth! Any leftover sauce (I made a double recipe of it) would be great on waffles, pancakes, pound cake or ice cream. We all enjoyed this very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
570 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I made this for Christmas Eve Brunch. I followed the advice of others and decreased the cream cheese to 10 oz. I added a little milk and whipped the cream cheese and spread it on the slices of bread. A little messy but it was evenly distributed. I also took the advice of others and doubled the amount of blueberries in the syrup and in the dish itself. Atleast use one and a half the blueberries when making it. I cut the sugar in the syrup to 3/4 cup - it was plenty sweet. I added a dsh of cinnamon and nutmeg to the syrup too. I still had a request to get out the regular maple syrup. All in all, a very easy dish that is a little different from the standard egg casseroles so often served for a crowd at breakfast or brunch. I would make this again - next time I will try strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
465 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Tasty. I used cinnamon raisin swirl bread, 10 eggs, and a grating of nutmeg. After reading comments about the blobs of cream cheese I chilled the brick in the freezer and then grated it over the bottom layer, much more efficient than spreading on bread. And then to add a bit more colour and zing I threw in a handful of chopped fresh cranberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I am only giving this 3 stars because, as written, it needs some work. It is, however, a great basis for a recipe. I try to only give feedback that I think is truly helpful, so here are my suggestions. 1. Make sure you use a good hearty bread like an Italian or French loaf from the bakery. If you use basic loaf bread, it will be way too soggy. You do not want a soft or delicate bread. 2. After placing the first layer of bread, sprinkle with cinnamon for more flavor. 3. After reading many reviews, I decided to mix 1.5 blocks of cream cheese with 1/4 c. of powdered sugar and then spread it on the bread. I thought it was still hard to spread, so next time I will add a little milk to thin it out. Maybe also a dash of vanilla. 3. I used frozen blueberries (thawed) & they worked well. You could also definitely use more than a cup in the middle of the french toast. 4. After placing the 2nd layer of bread, sprinkle with cinnamon again. 5. I thought the blueberry sauce was lacking a certain wow factor, so I added a little fresh lemon juice. This definitely gave it what I thought had been missing. Overall, this was very good with modifications and would be great when you have have company. Next time, I will make this with strawberries instead, and I'm betting it will taste like a breakfast version of strawberry shortcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
My husband REALLY likes this recipe. I've made it twice now. The second time I tried it with strawberries. That was good too. Just like everyone else I've made adjustments to the recipe....I 1) doubled the amount of blueberries, 2) cut the cream cheese to one package and whipped it with a little bit of milk, sugar and vanilla so that it made like a filling (works great!), 3) doubled the "syrup" recipe, 4) I've made it with day old French bread and day old croissants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSYF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This has been one of our favorites for a few years now. This makes a lot, so be sure to use your largest casserole dish. If you prepared this way ahead of time and it has been well refrigerated, it will need extra time on the counter "warming up" to room temperature before you cook it. You'll have a more difficult time cooking it all the way through if it's too cold. Delicious, unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I have made this recipe many times as is and it is really great. I now make it with a few minor variations and everyone loves it. For the bread, I use french bread (it gives it a much lighter, fluffier texture than regular bread), I only use 8 oz. of cream cheese, I use 1/2 cup of maple syrup instead of 1/3 cup and I sprinkled cinnamon over it before putting it in the fridge. The cinnamon really makes it smells great baking. Everyone loves it. This is a staple in our house for Christmas morning or anytime I have friends or relatives visiting. It lets me spend more time with them and less time in front of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This was great and very easy. I made it for company today and it got rave reviews--even the super picky 7-year-old said it was the best breakfast he had ever eaten! I used egg substitute for half the eggs and light cream cheese, but you would never know it. It was still very rich and filling. I also added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the egg mixture, which I think was a nice addition. I used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 splenda in the blueberry sauce, and that worked great. I will definitely make this again, and very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Excellent recipe. Enough with the praise here is the mods I employed. 1. reduced the cream cheese to 12oz 2. I doubled the sauce but I dont think it is necesary 3. the cornstarch in the sauce I only used 2 TBS cause that will keep it from thickening too much 4. I used 1 loaf of french bread and only cut it into 12 slices and made them almost like sandwiches. 5. I made the cream cheese with a bit of milk and mixed it up to a consitancy that I could spoon it on to the bread I made this the night before and the bread soaked the mixture up fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States