Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
One tip: When refrigerating an egg casserole overnight, cover the pan with plastic wrap, then place something flat, rigid, and just barely smaller than the pan on top, and weight it down with cans to push the top layer of bread down into the liquid. That helps the top layer get really soaked. I followed some of the suggestions in the reviews (10 eggs, more blueberries, spread cream cheese on slices of bread) and this turned out great! Our family enjoyed it for breakfast, and when playdate friends stayed over into lunchtime the leftovers got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was amazing! We did cut the cream cheese in half and only used ten eggs but we probably could have gotten away with eight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
WE made this for a church event and expanded it to feed 160. We used 3 very large roasting pans. We also served baked ham, biscuits, smoked salmon, bagels, cream cheese and a huge cake. It was for our Rector's 10th Anniversary. This dish was the hit of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made this for a women's bible study and awed everyone ... even myself when I tasted it! This is unbelievably yummy and delicious. Everyone who tried it raved about it and thankfully I had brought a copy of the recipe because a number of women asked for it. I personally wouldn't change a thing because I loved every bite and so did everyone else. I do, however, like someone's suggestion to use cinnamon raisin swirl bread. It must have been decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Yummy birthday brunch! Served with turkey sausages, turkey bacon, extra scrambled eggs, lots of fresh fruit. Found the blueberry syrup quite sweet so preferred to use maple syrup. Small changes were low-fat cream cheese and 2 tsp. cinnamon sprinkled over bread cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I purchased blueberries on sale and looked at AR for a breakfast casserole. I chose this one and it was a huge hit with my family. I halved the recipe since only 3 were eating it. I did however, use a full cup of blueberries in the bread and that was perfect. I had thick sliced cinnamon swirl bread that worked out nicely. I added a touch of lemon juice and a sprinkle of cinnamon to the sauce for a little more flavor. Next time I make this I want the sauce to be more syrupy so I will half the corn starch. Thank you for a decadent French toast that will be make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
A+. Yummy!!! It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was just so so. I made this to bring to work to share. I used chunks of cream cheese but put a piece on each piece of bread. Made double the blueberry sauce as well. Usually everything I bring gets devoured in less than a hour (there are plenty of hungry men in our crew). But this dish was only 1/2 gone at the end of the day. I left it for the night custodial crew and the pan was empty by morning. It wasn't a big crowd pleaser. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntermma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This recipe is appealing to the eye - but not the taste buds. To my family - it tasted bland & it seemed there was too much bread. I was hoping the edges would have a crispy texture - like French Toast - it did not. Just soft & doughy. I can't quite put my finger on what it needs, but it's definitely lacking some pizazz. I won't waste my time on this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This is the second time I have made this recipe. The 1st time I took some advice from reviews, used only 10 eggs, and just clumped the whipped cream cheese mixture (adding vanilla extract, powdered sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg) over the first layer of bread because it was really hard to spread and then put blueberries all around. It turned out delicious but didn't have "layers" like the picture. The 2nd time I made it, I made much bigger bread cubes (I used an entire whole wheat ciabatta loaf and last time I just used leftover bread that I had laying around) and I found that the bigger cubes (like 1 1/2 to 2 inches) made it much easier to spread the same whipped cream cheese mixture. Also, don't put too much bread on the bottom of your pan. I found that if I put too much bread in one spot (i.e. a cube on top of a cube), it was impossible to spread and it stuck to my spatula! I just threw the "excess" bread cubes that were hiding underneath in the reserved bread for the top of the casserole and kept on spreading to link all the bread and cream cheese layers. Still used the same 10 eggs, cinnamon, vanilla extract, dash of salt, 2 cups milk, and 1/2 cup maple syrup mixture as last time. I pressed it down and topped it with cinnamon and brown sugar. When I baked it, it came out perfectly just like the picture! Tasted just as good as I remembered it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 887) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States