Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was a hit at our house! After watching the video and reading reviews, it seemed it would be a good change from our usual Christmas egg casserole. We already had some wonderful blackberries, so i used them, with good results. i will do next time with blueberries which are hubby's favorite. Also, i added some cinnamon and fresh grated nutmeg. For our family, I only used one brick of cream cheese with the dozen eggs, and 1/2 c sugar in the sauce, knowing I could always add some. The sauce ended up still so sweet that I added about 2 1/2 Tbsp of fresh lemon juice for brightness. That seemed just right and the sauce had gotten a bit thick anyhow. Next time I may only use 1 Tbsp of corn starch. Our family of six ate about half the casserole, but we look forward to leftovers. The sauce was served on the side to allow for personal taste. I can see making extra sauce to use on ice cream, etc.--it was yummy! Thanks so much for sharing--loved it and may have to always have it even if an egg casserole is also on menu. This time, though, I served with sausage links and patties and fresh fruit. Again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
OMG this was delicious! Made this for breakfast on Xmas morning. Made some slight changes based on others feedback. Used Italian bread for this. Softened 1 bar of cream cheese in the micro and mixed with 1/4c of powdered sugar, vanilla extract, cinnamon, nutmeg, & cloves and spread on first layer of bread. Will up the cream cheese next time! Used 1-1/2c frozen blueberries and topped with rest of bread. Used 10 eggs and added 1/2c white sugar instead of the syrup. Added some extra cinnamon and nutmeg to the mix. Let sit overnight and popped in the oven for about 1 hour and 15mins at 350. Didn't have time to let it come to room temp before baking so added a few mins to overall cooking time to make sure it was cooked all the way. For the syrup, used 1-1/2 c frozen blueberries and lemon zest and juice from 1 lemon. Add lemon to this it made such a difference! also added a splash of vanilla extract. My hubby who isn't fond of sweets went back for seconds. Its warm and gooey and very comforting. Will definitely make again. Maybe try cherries next time. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This made a wonderful Christmas breakfast! Everyone really enjoyed! It was sooooo easy too! And looked beautiful! Really perfect for a special occasion! The only thing i changed was i used frozen blueberries. I also doubled the syrup! The bread i used was an italian loaf. I think the only thing i would change would be to make the cream cheese chunks a little smaller the next time i make it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I think this recipe is perfect...I followed the recipe to a tee and I think the only thing I would change is sprinkling cinnamon on top of the bread and adding another tsp of vanilla in the egg mixture along with adding either lemon zest or juice in the blueberry syrup. I don't understand the other reviews where people are adding confectioners sugar to the cream cheese and "spreading" it on the bread cubes. I thnk the cubed cream cheese is just fine, it does melt perfectly as it bakes. If you really like cinnamon you could probably add cinnamon to the egg mixture also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was amazing! Great comfort food. I made it for Christmas morning, and everyone had seconds. I did leave out some of the cream cheese and did not put in the maple syrup. For the cream cheese, I kept it in the fridge till I was ready to put it on so it would be more solid and easier to cut into slices. I used frozen blueberries and used some of the blueberry juice as the liquid in the sauce. Will definitely be making this one again, it has already been requested for breakfast next Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We had this for Christmas breakfast. I couldn't find fresh blueberries at a good price so I used frozen mixed berries and it came out great. Like others, I used day-old Italian bread. I topped it with the hot berry topping right out of the oven and it was perfect. This might be good for making ahead and freezing for an easy Sunday brunches, and would be great for Easter breakfast potluck at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovethissite
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made for Christmas morning. I used Italian bread. I didn't really love the cream cheese in it - so may look for a French toast recipe without it. I didn't make the sauce either so maybe this would have made it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made this for friends this past summer and it was a huge hit! The only change was that I omitted the cream cheese as there were a couple of people who don't care for cheese. It's Christmas Eve and I've got a an in the fridge ready to go in the morning. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
It was great! I used water with the eggs instead of the milk, I didn't add the butter, and I added cinnamon on top but followed everything else and it was perfect not too sweet or full of calories. One small container of low-fat Greek vanilla yogurt instead of the cream cheese also worked well for our diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Let me begin by saying I took other readers suggestions in making this recipe so I am judging it based on my changes. (Drives me nuts when someone rates a recipe low based on their changes!) It was FABULOUS! 1st, frozen blueberries worked out great. 2nd, I creamed 8oz of cream cheese with 1/4 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, and a splash of milk. This allowed me to smooth it out more easily. 3rd, I only used 10 large eggs. Lastly, I doubled the blueberry sauce recipe, using 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. So yummy! Thank you for sharing the recipe and thanks to every who shared their changes. The perfect Christmas morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 844) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States