Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Just tried this and everyone loved it! It does take time in the morning, so I got it out of the fridge as soon as I got up, then went to get myself ready. I made 2 times the amount of syrup and people would have used more, it is fabulous. One suggestion on the syrup, mix the sugar and cornstarch together before adding water to be sure the cornstarch doesn't clump. Or else mix a little of the water with the cornstarch first. I like the look of the large squares of cream cheese, and they browned a little as well. Will be making this for the holidays. Probably Christmas morning when I am tired after cooking for Christmas Eve. It will be prefect to warm and cook while we relax and open presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was very good and very easy to make. Next time I would whip the cream cheese with a little vanilla extract before adding to the bread mixture. Thanks for sharing I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Ayotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Simply delicious tried this recipe several weeks ago for a brunch at a local club a received numerous raves. Had to make copies of this recipe for several friends. The only change I made was a was to use a little more cornstarch as I felt the sauce was a little watery. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Actually pinned this recipe on Pinterest. Amazing! Didn't have to change a thing. Although my bread was fresh so after cubing it, I put it in the oven for 10-15minutes. Just until very lightly toasted. I think this really helped it to hold up. It was the perfect texture once complete! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
What a great recipe, I've made this about 10 times. Tweeked just a little: loaf of italian bread let sit out all day trim crust off, I add one teaspoon of cinnamon to egg mixture, half brown sugar, half granulated sugar makes sauce darker and richer. This recipe can be scaled down in size,less cream cheese and eggs. Everyone that has had this loves it.Try it you will be amazed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
As suggested I could: decrease the cream cheese & mix with milk to spreadable consistency; best to use Italian Bread & cube it a day ahead; use more Blueberries, or use Strawberries or any other berries; pour half the sauce over it after baking, & serve the rest on the side; OR EVEN TRY MASCARPONE CHEESE INSIDE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
WARNING THIS STUFF WILL RAISE THE DEAD (with smiles of course)!! My teenagers' cares about being woke up "too early" or someone seeing their "bed head" fly out the window when this deliciousness is hot and ready to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I loved this! I would call it bread pudding rather than French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was a decent breakfast/brunch, but takes too much time to cook in the morning and ties up the oven for an hour which is a big down side, in my opinion, especially on a holiday morning when you need the oven for Turkey, Ham, and such. It was a little soggy and the cream cheese didn't melt so was still in clumps. Getting chunks of cream cheese took away from the rest of the dish. I don't think I would make this again given the time it takes in the morning (30 min. to set out of the fridge and then another hour in the oven on top of prepping the sauce), but if I did I would probably use a little less milk and egg mixture or a bigger dish with more bread AND would use less cream cheese and melt it with some blueberries and pour it over instead of leaving it in chunks. The blueberry sauce was super simple and I give it 5 stars! Will be using it again for sure with regular french toast or other suitable dishes. Overall, this recipe was okay, but could be better with some tweaks. However, I would not consider it a good holiday breakfast/brunch as the time it takes to cook and prep the morning of is too inconvenient. It is a really pretty dish when done though so if you are looking for something pretty to present and have the time in the morning this would be a great choice (again with some small tweaks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Great recipe. It is a Christmas morning tradition in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 840) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States