Overnight Asparagus Mushroom Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I used Thomas' Better Start Light Multi-Grain English Muffins, 2% milk, & Kraft 2% shredded Colby-Jack cheese. It dropped the calories per serving to 270 and dropped the fat to 12 grams per serving (22 carbs, 20 grams protein).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was downright tasty. 5 stars for ease, ingredients on hand and the low amount of prep time involved. After reading through the reviews, I consolidated the best changes and I am so glad I did. Cooked the onions with the mushrooms and added crookneck squash (before it went bad in the fridge as I hate to waste food). Added a 1/2 tsp of onion powder and a tbsp of hot sauce to the eggs. Forgot to toast the english muffins, and the strata still turned out fabulous. Served to 11 women on the last day of our Girl's Weekend and every single one of them asked for the recipe. Now that's my idea of success!!! Thanks Shandeen for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Wow, the best new recipe I've tried in a while. This recipe prompted me to get an allrecipes sign on so I could give a rating. 5 + stars! I halved the portions and prepared it in a 8x8 pan as suggested by another reviewer, baked for 45 minutes and it came out perfectly. The only thing I did different than the directions was cook the onions - added them to the mushrooms when they were about 2/3 done. So simple. Would be a very impressive brunch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Yum! I halved the recipe, but was generous with the seasonings. When making eggs, I always add some drops of hot sauce. It doesn't make things spicy, but definitely kicks the flavor up. I sauteed all the veggies except for the asparagus and since I used a 9x9 pan, the dish only had to cook for 35 minutes. If I made this for more people, I would definitely add some chopped ham. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was fantastic! I did not have any Colby Jack cheese, so I subbed in sharp cheddar instead. What's great about this dish is that you can add any vegetables you like-it is really flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Made this for my daughers graduation brunch and it was EXCELLENT! So easy to make and anytime you can make something the night before is a good thing! I used Portabello mushrooms because I couldn't find crimini...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parothstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was delicious and very easy to make. Now to figure out how to make a lower fat version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This is the most amazing breakfast I've ever had! Moist, tender, savory.....sheer heaven in my mouth. For couples I recommend halving the recipe and using 8x8 dish as this dish is best eaten fresh out of the oven. Leftovers tend to be tough and rubbery, but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristiT.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
a keeper, bread recipes get mushy overnight, these english muffins kept their texture....gooooddddddddd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oliveland
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Delicious! I chose to try this out this year for a Mother's Day brunch with my mother in law. It turned out wonderfully and everyone said it was great! I didn't have any Crimini mushrooms so I used sliced white button mushrooms, and added some sausage. My mother in law is allergic to peppers, so I omitted those and they weren't missed at all. I also used Kraft Tex Mex cheese mix and substituted the dry mustard for yellow mustard (I tripled the amount as per google directions). As per a review I added 2 extra eggs. Yum! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oliveland

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States