Overnight Asparagus Mushroom Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent! Next time I might try it with a nicer cheese, like fontina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This recipe was a hit at my family get-together. I was asked for the recipe and the entire 9 x 13" casserole was devoured in 1 sitting, with several of us wishing there was more! I followed the suggestion of sauteeing the veggies in advance. I used only medium cheddar. I also added 1 tsp of sriracha hot sauce. I was also forced to use bagels rather than english muffins, and it turned out fine! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My family loved this on Christmas morning. followed the directions exactly except I used shitake mushrooms bc I couldn't find crimini and i substituted broccoli and zucchini in place of the asparagus since I thought asparagus would be to "springy" for Christmas morning. loved the english muffins, not soggy like bread. will TOTALLY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made a strata. I had searched all over the site and liked the idea of the english muffin instead of the traditional cubed day old bread. I followed the recipe exactly with exception of subbing out the asparagus for ground turkey sausage (see grandpa's coriander turkey sausage on the site- you will not be disappointed.) It was so delicious and a perfect make ahead meal when you don't want to take the time to prep in the AM but want a nice meal. You can easily change this to suit your tastes and the english muffin was a great choice. Definitely making tghis again when we have company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My wife and I enjoyed putting this together for Thanksgiving Brunch. We went with the multigrain muffins and 4oz's of diced ham. It just tasted wonderful. We'll do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made this for Mother's Day brunch. Making most of it up the night before was a real plus. We had 6 guests and they all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Made a lot of changes to use what was on hand. Halved the recipe. Used French bread slices leftover (which I should have cubed). One egg, egg substitute for the rest, steamed broccoli, chicken sausage, cheddar cheese and added a little parmesan on top for flavor. A little dry (I had too much bread) but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Yum! We loved it. It was maybe a bit bready, so next time I would either increase the milk/egg a bit or leave out that extra English muffin that the recipe says to crumble in between. I also would do closer to 2 C mushrooms. The asparagus was in some cases still a bit tough, though not enough that I'd go to the trouble of steaming it first or anything. For our second helping, we added sriracha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Yum! I halved the recipe, but was generous with the seasonings. When making eggs, I always add some drops of hot sauce. It doesn't make things spicy, but definitely kicks the flavor up. I sauteed all the veggies except for the asparagus and since I used a 9x9 pan, the dish only had to cook for 35 minutes. If I made this for more people, I would definitely add some chopped ham. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is a fabulous brekkie or lunch and keeps for days. It's even lovely cold in a picnic or to take camping and the ingredients are so adaptable. I added bacon to mine and a selection of hard cheeses grated (just whatever was in the fridge), I also added some smoked paprika, substitued the milk for skimmed/low fat variety & grated some nutmeg on top before cooking. This recipe is delicious and I will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States