Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was just "ok." It served the purpose of feeding a lot of people with minimal prep, but I didn't feel as WOWed as most of the reviewers. It was kind of sloppy and just tasted like warmed up pie filling over bread. Not my favorite, but it gets points for being convenient and serving a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very,very good,and so easy! I could not put in 20 slices, maybe 16, and I really pushed the bread down. I like the idea of trying it with raisin bread next time,and also using my own apple pie filling. I did have to bake it a little longer, but not much, because I let it sit out for an hour before baking it, and did take the foil off the last 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is a keeper! I made my own apple fillling which enhanced the apple flavor! LOVED IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was absolutley amazing. I strongly recommend that you don't use the apple pie filling, though. Use fresh, chopped apples. I used about five macintoshes for a half-recipe and I think that's one of the reasons this turned out so good. It made it healthier, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I didnt get but a bite! A few of us race and go out to the desert quite often for events. We do breakfast casseroles on Sat morning as a buffet. WOW this was the first to go and everyone is still raving. They ask me to make this EVERY race lol. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Needs to bake a bit longer than directions say, but the taste is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by champ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
the IDEA is great. the RECIPE ISN'T. it requires too much tweeking. it simply doesn't fit in the pan for starters. I reduced it and it still overflowed. The cook time is alllll wrong... if someone could purge this recipe out of the site and put in an amended one, it would be a 4 or 5 star breakfast. But the way it is right now I feel all of you have been way to generous with the stars...aside from the overflowing and the extra cook time... the thing tasted great. note... next time i would definitely use fresh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wading River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good. I made it with raisin bread like other suggested. I left out the maple syrup part because I didn't have any. It was perfect without it. I think the syrup would have made it too sweet. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was SO EASY and super yummy! I made this for my monthly "Supper Swap" club that I belong to with 5 other mom friends of mine who also have little ones and busy schedules. I made 8 pans so I halved the recipe and made it in 8x8 pans. I used apples from my apple tree in our backyard and also used the Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Swirl bread and used 1/2 milk and decided to go on a whim and substitute sugar free French Vanilla creamer for the other half milk it called for. I baked it fo 90 min and it turned out great!!! We did top ours with a Mrs Butterworths sugar free syrup (like you would a traditional french toast.) Next time just for the heck of it I would like to try it using the apple pie filling and texas toastjust to see the diffence but I loved how it turned out and using my own apples...they're FREE! This one is a keeper though I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
The flavor was delicous. I love sweet so it worked for me, although it was soggy and i cooked it for the full amount of time. Maybe because i could only fit 12 slices of bread, and i used the full amount of egg. But it still tasted good soggy or not, although i wish it had a little crunch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States