Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have prepared this according to a few other's suggestions. I have used 1 1/2 loafs of peppridge farm cinnamon swirl bread torn into pieces, with 1 can of apple pie filling. That was my only modification of this recipe and followed all directions otherwise accordingly. It was very easy to make. Tearing bread seemed to allow the egg mixture to soak well as it appeared just a little moist/wet before I covered it overnight. I baked 1 hr, and then tried the broiler suggesting but my syrup didn't carmelize (probably because I used sugar free, didn't matter, everyone still loved it) Also, when serving, I did not flip the dish over, everyone scooped from the 9x13 pampered chef stone I baked/served it in. I am being asked to bring to future Easter brunches as everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is a decedent tasty recipe. I modified it slightly although I am sure the recipe as is works just as well. I used raisin challah bread and sliced it in 1" thick slices. I was able to fill the pan with approximately 9 slices of bread. I used only 1 can of apple pie filling. I used the recommended amount of milk and eggs, but when pouring the mixture on top of the bread I only used about 1/2. The finished product was excellent! Next time I will cut down the sweetness a bit by browning some fresh apple slices on the stove top first in lieu of the canned apples. Definitely try this recipe as you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
We liked it but we all seemed to prefer regular bread pudding to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahAbles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cecilia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Brought this to work and ended up printing out copies for many. It's a big crowd pleaser. I've done a 13x9 (1 can of apples 10-12 slices of bread), 8x8 (1/2 all ingredients 8 slices of bread, 1 can apples) and just recently a large catering pan ( 2 and a half cans of apples 20 slices of bread and double all the other ingredients) Same cooking time for all. I have had success each time. The only thing is a bit of overflow in the oven with the 8x8 dish. Thanks CALJAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The only thing I thought would be improved with this recipe, was to cut down on the sugar used. I have a sweet tooth, but this was even a little much for me. Next time I will make my own apple mixture (cooking them in butter, a touch of sugar and cinnamon) instead of the pie filling - which I thought added a lot of sugar and also made the texture of the apples softer than what I would've liked. I think overall, it is a good recipe though. I will make minor adjustments for our tastes and use the recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is delicious. Made it for a mother's day brunch and it was gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was just "ok." It served the purpose of feeding a lot of people with minimal prep, but I didn't feel as WOWed as most of the reviewers. It was kind of sloppy and just tasted like warmed up pie filling over bread. Not my favorite, but it gets points for being convenient and serving a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very,very good,and so easy! I could not put in 20 slices, maybe 16, and I really pushed the bread down. I like the idea of trying it with raisin bread next time,and also using my own apple pie filling. I did have to bake it a little longer, but not much, because I let it sit out for an hour before baking it, and did take the foil off the last 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is a keeper! I made my own apple fillling which enhanced the apple flavor! LOVED IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was absolutley amazing. I strongly recommend that you don't use the apple pie filling, though. Use fresh, chopped apples. I used about five macintoshes for a half-recipe and I think that's one of the reasons this turned out so good. It made it healthier, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States